LAGQ Brazil
  • CAT # 80686-25

    1. Mas Que Nada 3:58
    2. Samba Novo 3:28
    3. O Morro nao tem vez 3:33
    4. Jobim Medley: Modinha 2:31
    5. Jobim Medley: A Felicidade 1:50
    6. Jobim Medley: Stone Flower 2:40
    7. A Lenda do Caboclo 3:21
    8. Bluezilian 3:05
    9. Sambadalu 6:07
    10. Cafezinho 4:31
    11. De Sabado pra Dominguinhos 4:36
    12. Preludio from Quartetice 2:46
    13. Gangorra from Quartetice 3:19
    14. Carlo's Dance 5:03
    15. A Furiosa 3:30

The acclaimed acoustic quartet explores the guitar’s rich Brazilian heritage with the aptly titled LAGQ Brazil, their fourth Telarc recording. The album features the music of Sergio Assad, Marco Pereira, Hermeto Pascoal, Baden Powell, Antonio Carlos Jobim, Heitor Villa-Lobos and others. LAGQ Brazil marks the debut of guitarist Matthew Greif, who replaces long-time LAGQ member Andrew York and joins remaining members Bill Kanengiser, John Dearman and Scott Tennant. In addition to being an accomplished and award-winning classical guitarist, Greif has also played with many famous non-classical and jazz musicians, including Chet Atkins. LAGQ Brazil also features the rich and engaging voice of Luciana Souza, the Sao Paulo-born jazz vocalist and composer and three-time Grammy nominee. Souza joins LAGQ for Sergio Assad’s “Medley” of Jobim tunes and a quartet version of Marco Pereira’s “Sambadalu.”

Find out more about Los Angeles Guitar Quartet


The Los Angeles Guitar Quartet, the Grammy-winning ensemble that has spent the past quarter century extracting brilliant music from a rich and… More
2005 Grammy Award Winner for Best Classical Crossover Album Guitar Heroes is LAGQ's salute to the great players who inspired the… More
Telarc proudly presents the virtuosic and world-renowned Los Angeles Guitar Quartet in a unique, colorful album devoted to Latin and… More