Legends Of Acid Jazz: Boogaloo Joe Jones, Vol. 1

Boogaloo Joe Jones

Legends Of Acid Jazz Boogaloo Joe Jones Vol 1
  • CAT # PRCD-24167-25

    1. Boogaloo Joe 6:35
    2. Don't Deceive Me (Please Don't Go) 8:05
    3. Boardwalk Blues 4:18
    4. Dream On Little Dreamer 6:40
    5. Atlantic City Soul 4:55
    6. 6:30 Blues/six Thirty Blues 6:22
    7. Right On! 5:41
    8. Things Ain't What They Used To Be 7:00
    9. Poppin' 6:03
    10. Someday We'll Be Together 6:45
    11. Brown Bag 5:05
    12. Let It Be Me 5:29

Known as "Joe" to his friends, guitarist Ivan Joseph Jones was nicknamed "Boogaloo" not only to help distinguish him from the drummers Papa Jo Jones and Philly Joe Jones but also because of his unique, rhythmically propulsive way of picking. Informed in equal parts by blues and bop, Boogaloo Joe's fast-fingered, decidedly staccato lines fit fatback funk beats like hand in glove, particularly when they're being laid down by drum groove master Bernard "Pretty" Purdie. Also throwing grease into the frying pan on these two rare albums are saxophonist Rusty Bryant and organists Sonny Phillips and Charles Earland.

with Rusty Bryant, Sonny Phillips, Charles Earland, Eddie Mathias, Jimmy Lewis, Bernard Purdie

Find out more about Boogaloo Joe Jones


A mostly original program of solid, relaxed, and funky soul jazz on this 1969 date, which also features Rusty Bryant on sax and Bernard Purdie… More
To help offset confusion with the drummers Papa Jo Jones and Philly Joe Jones, Prestige producer Bob Porter dubbed the New Jersey guitarist Joe… More