Legends Of Acid Jazz: Boogaloo Joe Jones, Vol. 2

Boogaloo Joe Jones

Legends Of Acid Jazz Boogaloo Joe Jones Vol 2
  • CAT # PRCD-24209-25

    1. No Way 7:18
    2. If You Were Mine 4:53
    3. Georgia On My Mind 6:03
    4. Sunshine Alley 7:10
    5. I'll Be There 4:05
    6. Holdin' Back 6:45
    7. Ain't No Sunshine 5:38
    8. I Feel The Earth Move 6:15
    9. Fadin' 7:00
    10. What It Is 7:07
    11. Let Them Talk 5:49
    12. Inside Job 6:15

To help offset confusion with the drummers Papa Jo Jones and Philly Joe Jones, Prestige producer Bob Porter dubbed the New Jersey guitarist Joe Jones "Boogaloo Joe." The name is particularly fitting, as few jazz pickers can ride atop a Latin-derived boogaloo funk beat with as much relentless rhythmic momentum as Jones. This, the second volume by Jones in the Legends of Acid Jazz series, finds the great guitar slinger in the solid company of two other giants of the genre--big-toned tenor saxophonist Grover Washington, Jr. and master groove drummer Bernard "Pretty" Purdie. Soul-jazz doesn't get any funkier than this!

with Grover Washington, Jr., Sonny Phillips, Butch Cornell, Jimmy Lewis, Bernard Purdie, Buddy Caldwell

Find out more about Boogaloo Joe Jones


A mostly original program of solid, relaxed, and funky soul jazz on this 1969 date, which also features Rusty Bryant on sax and Bernard Purdie… More
Known as "Joe" to his friends, guitarist Ivan Joseph Jones was nicknamed "Boogaloo" not only to help distinguish him from the… More