Lester Young In Washington, D.C., 1956, Vol. 3

Lester Young

Lester Young In Washington DC 1956 Vol 3
  • CAT # OJCCD-901-25

    1. Just You, Just Me 7:06
    2. Sometimes I'm Happy 3:53
    3. Indiana (Back Home Again In) 4:33
    4. Up'n Adam 6:30
    5. There Will Never Be Another You 5:00
    6. G's, If You Please 6:43

One of the delights of the last phrase of Lester Young's career is the cache of recordings made during his 1956 engagement at Olivia's Patio Lounge in Washington, D.C. The rhythm section led by pianist Bill Potts was just the kind Pres liked and too seldom had in his latter years. Potts, bassist Norman Williams, and drummer Jim Lucht were content to provide Young a supply of correct chords and a firm delineation of the time. They thrust upon him none of the rhythmic complications with which other young musicians of the bop era sometimes frustrated Young, causing him to retreat into rote playing. Here, his solos often recall the freshness and daring of Pres's early days. The tunes come from Young's more or less constant repertoire and include "Sometimes I'm Happy" with a reprise of the tag from his famous 1943 recording.

with Bill Potts, Norman Williams, Jim Lucht

Find out more about Lester Young


This collection celebrates the mature Lester Young of the 1950s, a reminder of a time when his powers of eloquence and subtlety remained… More
with Bill Potts, Norman Williams, Jim Lucht More
This is the final volume capturing Lester Young at work during a felicitious week in a Washington, D.C. club with a young rhythm section who… More
An absurdity perpetuated in jazz literature by retrograde members of the musical establishment and only lately beginning to be dispelled, is that… More
If Lester Young never duplicated his revolutionary artistry of 1936, neither was he a burnt-out case in 1956; far from it. He ended an active and… More
What a treat to find yet another volume in the treasured series of albums taken from Lester Young's appearance late in 1956 at Olivia Davis's… More