Letter From Home

Eddie Jefferson

Letter From Home
  • CAT # OJCCD-307-25

    1. Letter From Home 2:59
    2. Take The "A" Train 3:08
    3. Billie's Bounce (Take 4) 3:12
    4. Billie's Bounce (Take 3) 3:12
    5. I Cover The Waterfront (Back In Town) 3:55
    6. Soft And Furry 2:49
    7. A Night In Tunisia 3:51
    8. Things Are Getting Better 3:08
    9. Keep Walkin' (Take 4) 2:57
    10. Keep Walkin' (Take 1) 2:57
    11. Body And Soul (I Feel So Good) 4:29
    12. Parker's Mood (Bless My Soul) 3:25

This was Jefferson's only recording for Riverside, but its three sessions gave him perhaps the strongest opportunity in his career to immerse himself in a large and thoroughly top-of-the-line jazz setting. All ten selections were arranged by Ernie Wilkins; six were accompanied by the ten-piece band involving trumpeters Clark Terry and Joe Newman, saxophonists Johnny Griffin and James Moody, and Wynton Kelly or Joe Zawinul on piano. Four others were backed by a quintet that included Griffin, pianist Junior Mance, and Sam Jones on bass. More than half the tunes have original lyrics by the singer--in all, a rare occasion for self-expression by one of the most original of jazz artists.

with Clark Terry, Ernie Royal, Jimmy Cleveland, James Moody, Johnny Griffin, Joe Zawinul, Sam Jones, Wynton Kelly, and others

Find out more about Eddie Jefferson


Not the first to construct elaborate vocal versions of instrumental solos, Eddie Jefferson nonetheless brought to that demanding craft… More
In the 1940s, the late Eddie Jefferson put lyrics to James Moody's alto saxophone solo on "I'm in the Mood for Love," transforming it… More