Live At The 1958 Monterey Jazz Festival

Louis Armstrong

Live At The 1958 Monterey Jazz Festival
  • CAT # MJFR-30311-25

    1. Introduction by Dizzy Gillespie
    2. When It's Sleepy Time Down South 2:57
    3. (Back Home Again In) Indiana 3:50
    4. Blueberry Hill 3:36
    5. Tiger Rag 2:20
    6. Now You Has Jazz 5:09
    7. High Society Calypso 3:47
    8. Bucket's Got A Hole In It 4:17
    9. Perdido 4:48
    10. Autumn Leaves 2:28
    11. After You've Gone 4:18
    12. These Foolish Things 7:32
    13. Mack The Knife 3:23
    14. Stompin' At The Savoy 6:23
    15. Undecided 2:57
    16. St. Louis Blues 6:26
    17. That's My Desire 4:36
    18. When The Saints Go Marching In 4:46

This previously unreleased live album features Louis Armstrong on trumpet & vocals, Trummy Young on the trombone & vocals (tracks 6 thru 8), Mort Herbert on bass, Billy Kyle playing piano, Peanuts Hucko jammin' on clarinet, Danny Barcelona on drums, and Velma Middleton on vocals. Produced by Jimmy Lyons, this album was recorded live at the Monterey Jazz Festival on October 3, 1958 (opening night). All proceeds from this recording go to Monterey Jazz Festival-supported jazz education programs.

Find out more about Louis Armstrong


When It's Sleepy Time Down South, Indiana, Now You Has Jazz, High Society Calypso, Mahogany Hall Stomp, Blue Moon, Sweet Georgia Brown, Riff… More