Live At The 1972 Monterey Jazz Festival

Art Blakey & the Giants of Jazz

Live At The 1972 Monterey Jazz Festival MJF 30882 02
  • CAT # MJF-30882-25

    1. Introduction By Jimmy Lyons 2:45
    2. Blue 'n' Boogie 13:56
    3. 'Round Midnight 5:15
    4. Perdido 15:20
    5. Stardust 3:42
    6. Lover Man 3:03
    7. I Can't Get Started With You 2:51
    8. The Man I Love 2:41
    9. A Night In Tunisia 9:52

From the liner notes: "The Giants of Jazz was the greatest touring jam session since the heyday of Jazz at the Philharmonic. For the year or so of the band's existence, it brought together six of the most important musicians of the post-World War II era. Each of the players was a central figure in jazz, all but one the leader of an important group. They agreed to be, for a time, an entity that was the living definition of the term all-star band... The repertoire of the Giants of Jazz in this collection is made up of bop classics and superior standards, an alternation of exciting swing with lovely balladry."-Doug Ramsey

Personnel: Art Blakey, drums; Sonny Stitt, alto and tenor saxophones; Roy Eldridge, trumpet; Clark Terry, trumpet and flugelhorn; Kai Winding, trombone; Thelonious Monk, piano; Al McKibbon, bass

Find out more about Art Blakey & the Giants of Jazz