Loco Motion

Joe Loco

Loco Motion MP3
  • CAT # FCD-24733-25

    1. Mi China 2:15
    2. Dime Con Quien Andas 3:18
    3. Bon Bon 3:32
    4. Algo Caliente 3:15
    5. Besos De Caramelos 2:31
    6. Tu Plato 3:18
    7. La Pachanga 2:35
    8. Piano Guajira 1:57
    9. Pin Pon 3:20
    10. Tu Crees Que 4:47
    11. Con Su Bataola 2:42
    12. Manila 1:43
    13. September Song 11:00
    14. April In Paris 3:40
    15. Pete Mambos On The Terrace 2:43
    16. Jamaiquino 2:45
    17. Oracion De Rumba 4:05
    18. Someone To Watch Over Me 3:40
    19. Autumn Leaves 6:23
    20. I've Got You Under My Skin 3:16
    21. Cherry Pink And Apple Blossom White 2:12
    22. Granada 2:58
    23. Loco Chris 4:02
    24. A Donde Esta Corazon? 2:45

Pianist Joe Loco (José Estevez) played a key role in popularizing the mambo and other Latin rhythms in this country with various important big bands of the 1940s and ’50s, and with his own popular combo. Half of this collection features his typical small-group work, where his clever arrangements of familiar standards and catchy originals reveal a kinship with the tightly-scored interpretations of several contemporary jazz trios. The remaining tracks take Loco out of his usual element for a session in the later pachanga mode that includes a potent ensemble (including Mongo Santamaria, Willie Bobo, and three violins) and a veritable melting pot of Afro-Latin influences.

with José Lozano, José "Chombo" Silva, Felix "Pupi" Legaretta, Gonzalo Martinez, Victor Venegas, Mongo Santamaria, Willie Bobo, Nicolas Martinez, Bayardo Velarde, Rudy Calzado, Pete Terrace, Juan Andino (Garcia), Bobby Flash, Freddie Aguilera

Find out more about Joe Loco