Looking Ahead

Ken Mclntyre

Looking Ahead
  • CAT # OJCCD-252-2

    1. Lautir 4:04
    2. Curtsy 5:52
    3. Geo's Tune 7:13
    4. They All Laughed 5:08
    5. Head Shakin' 10:46
    6. Dianna 9:07

Ken McIntyre came up after Ornette Coleman and Eric Dolphy but before the large influx of avant-gardists in the mid-and late-Sixties. His phrasing was immediately recognizable as his own, heightened by a very personal, vocal sound. This album with Dolphy is a contrast between two players who, despite a similar outlook, were working on new ideas, each in his own way. They convene on five McIntyre originals and a Gershwin standard, backed by a rhythm section from the ranks of bebop.

with Walter Bishop, Jr., Sam Jones, Arthur Taylor

Find out more about Ken Mclntyre


Like his friend Eric Dolphy, with whom he would record a month after this session, Makanda Ken McIntyre (1931-2001) was a masterful multi-reedman… More