Losing Game

Lonnie Johnson

Losing Game
  • CAT # OBCCD-543-25

    1. New Orleans Blues 2:21
    2. My Little Kitten Susie 2:34
    3. Evil Woman 2:27
    4. What A Diff'rence A Day Made 4:47
    5. Moanin' Blues 3:53
    6. Summertime 5:36
    7. Lines In My Face 2:45
    8. Losing Game 1:47
    9. New Years Blues 2:11
    10. Slow And Easy 4:10
    11. Four Walls And Me 3:39
    12. You Won't Let Me Go 3:42

The father of urban blues, song crooner and guitar master Alonzo "Lonnie" Johnson had been cutting records 35 years when he made this solo session on December 28, 1960, yet the vitality, grace, and haunting emotional quality of his music were undiminished by time. A collection of nine blues tunes and three popular standards, Losing Gameincludes one rare example of Johnson accompanying himself on piano--"Evil Woman"-- and a stunning guitar instrumental--"Slow and Easy"--on which he further developed the surprise-filled triplet patterns he'd made famous with his 1927 solo chorus on Louis Armstrong's "I'm Not Rough." Not rough, indeed, Johnson was one of the smoothest, sweetest blues and jazz stylists who ever lived.

Find out more about Lonnie Johnson


Blues and Ballads, a 1960 album that paired Lonnie Johnson with fellow guitarist Elmer Snowden, produced some of the most moving… More
A pioneer of both jazz and single-note blues guitar styles and one of the most prolific of all blues recording artists, Alonzo Johnson (1889-1970)… More
Male-female vocal duets are a big thing in the record business these days. One of the first such pairings was that of New Orleans singer-guitarist… More
This 1960 session marked the comeback of one of the giants of blues and jazz guitar. Lonnie Johnson, who began his recording career in 1925 and… More