Love Shout

Etta Jones

Love Shout
  • CAT # OJCCD-941-25

    1. Love Walked In 2:10
    2. It's Magic 5:38
    3. Like Someone In Love 19:27
    4. The Gal From Joe's 4:07
    5. Hi-Lili, Hi-Lo 7:16
    6. If I Loved You 6:17
    7. There Are Such Things 9:26
    8. Someday My Prince Will Come 4:56
    9. Old Folks 5:11
    10. Some Enchanted Evening 2:25

The absolute assurance that marked Etta Jones's singing throughout her career has never been on better display than in this album, where she transforms such unlikely material as "Hi-Lili, Hi-Lo" and "Some Enchanted Evening" into totally swinging jazz performances. She is equally commanding on the program's more familiar standards, and her rare vocal take on Duke Ellington's "The Gal from Joe's" is classic. Jones receives heartfelt support from two supporting groups, one of which successfully features the uncommon pairing of piano and organ. Kenny Burrell's guitar is spotlighted with both bands, Detroit pianist Kenny Cox (who would later lead the Contemporary Jazz Quintet) takes several lucid solos, Jerome Richardson's tenor tears up the Ellington tune, and Larry Young and Bucky Pizzarelli are among the other luminaries heard in the rhythm sections.

with Kenny Cox, Larry Young, Peck Morrison, Oliver Jackson, Kenny Burnell, Jerome Richardson, Sam Bruno, Ernest Hays, Bobby Donaldson, Bucky Pizzarelli, George Tucker, Jimmie Smith

Find out more about Etta Jones


This was Etta Jones' first album for Prestige Records when it was originally released in 1960 (having been recorded in a single session on June… More
After paying dues for over 15 years, Etta Jones (1928-2001) became an overnight sensation with the release of this, her first Prestige album… More
Etta Jones, one of the jazz's reigning vocalists at the time of her death in October 2001, was well on her way during the productive period she… More
For the last decade or so of her life, Etta Jones (1928-2001) was able to finally sustain the deserved popularity she attracted briefly with her… More
Etta Jones's growing list of fans will find this 1962 orchestral encounter fascinating. The Billie Holiday influence that marked her earlier work… More
This was the followup album to the extremely successful Don't Go to Strangers LP whose title track took Etta to the pop record charts… More
South Carolina-born vocalist Etta Jones made her first record in 1944 at the age of 16 and continued to record prolifically for over a half… More