Manhattan Moods

Mary Stallings

Manhattan Moods
  • CAT # CCD-4750-25

    1. This Can't Be Love 4:16
    2. Sweet And Lovely 5:18
    3. I Have A Feeling 6:08
    4. How High The Moon 5:36
    5. Lullaby Of The Leaves 4:38
    6. I Wish I Knew 5:04
    7. Surrey With The Fringe On Top 4:48
    8. You Go To My Head 6:38
    9. He Was Too Good To Me 6:03
    10. Willow Weep For Me 5:59
    11. I Don't Stand A Ghost Of A Chance With You 5:18
    12. I Love You Madly 4:21

A true jazz singer in the tradition of Carmen McRae, Dinah Washington and Billie Holiday, Mary Stallings doesn't just sing songs. She tells stories. She creates moods. And in her new Concord Jazz recording, she creates Manhattan Moods, but not those of the incessantly honking horns of taxis on the crowded streets of a city that never sleeps. The warmth of candlelight, the coziness of the log-burning fireplace in the Park Avenue penthouse suite, the subtlety and complexity of the vintage wine being served at just the right temperature, all being shared with that special someone-these are the Manhattan Moods for which this collection of romantic standards, rendered with passion and warmth by one of the finest jazz vocalists singing today, is the perfect soundtrack. FEATURING: Mary Stallings - vocals; Monty Alexander - piano; Ben Wolfe - bass; Clyde Lucas >- drums; Hendrik Meurkens - harmonica, vibraphone; Dick Oatts - flute, soprano saxophone

Find out more about Mary Stallings


In her recording debut, Mary Stallings more than held her own with one of the best bands Cal Tjader ever led. She was only 22 in 1961, but the… More


"...In timbre, phrasing and class, [Stallings] is in the league of a Carmen [McRae]." Patricia Myers, Jazz Times In a stunning… More