Maria Muldaur's Music For Lovers

Maria Muldaur

Maria Muldaurs Music For Lovers
  • CAT # 83512-25

    1. Fanning the Flames 5:31
    2. Think About You 5:28
    3. Latersville 4:52
    4. It Feels Like Rain 6:53
    5. Gee Baby, Ain't I Good to You 4:25
    6. We Can Let It Happen Tonight 4:08
    7. Soothe Me 4:24
    8. Talk Real Slow 4:20
    9. I Wanna Be Loved 4:18
    10. Someday When We're Both Alone 5:12
    11. Southland of the Heart 5:10

Maria Muldaur’s Music for Lovers explores the more romantic side of her work with Telarc. Not surprisingly, Maria’s voice is the star of this compilation, incorporating her "bluesiana" style—what she calls her gumbo of New Orleans-flavored blues and R&B—into all eleven tracks. No singer today has mastered as many roots music styles as Muldaur.

Maria Muldaur’s Music for Lovers scores with "Fanning the Flames," "Think About You," "Latersville," John Hiatt’s "It Feels Like Rain," "Gee Baby, Ain’t I Good to You," "We Could Let It Happen Tonight," "Soothe Me," "Talk Real Slow," "I Want To Be Loved," "Someday When We’re Both Alone," and Bruce Cockburn’s "Southland of the Heart."

Best known for her seductive 1974 hit "Midnight at the Oasis," Muldaur has continued singing her own brand of blues, folk, gospel, rock, and even jazz, ever since. Her first release for Telarc was Fanning the Flames (CD-83394) in 1996, with slide guitarist Sonny Landreth, harpist Huey Lewis, and singers Johnny Adams, Bonnie Raitt, and Mavis Staples. Her best-selling Telarc debut not only garnered critical acclaim, but also cracked the Billboard Blues Chart.

In 1998, Muldaur made songwriter Bruce Cockburn’s infectious Southland of the Heart the title cut for her second Telarc recording (CD-83423). 1999’s Meet Me Where They Play the Blues (CD-83460) was dedicated to the incomparable pianist/vocalist Charles Brown and featured his last recorded appearance on "Gee Baby, Ain’t I Good to You."

An album for grown-ups, listen to Maria Muldaur’s Music for Lovers with someone you care about. More than a collection of great love songs, it is also a satisfying introduction to the vocal stylings of Maria Muldaur.

Find out more about Maria Muldaur


Maria Muldaur Say Yes to the Vision of a Better World Yes We Can! features Joan Baez, Jane Fonda, Odetta, Bonnie Raitt, Phoebe Snow… More
Maria Muldaur's dynamic legacy spans several decades from her early '60s folk roots in Greenwich Village to her more recent blues-jazz recordings… More
Maria Muldaur follows up on the critical-acclaim of her 2003 release of Peggy Lee songs with the intimate and engaging Love Wants To… More
The enchanting chanteuse, Maria Muldaur, pays respect to the great Peggy Lee with A Woman Alone with the Blues, devoted to twelve of Lee's… More
Maria Muldaur delivers the goods with heart, soul, and grit on her third Telarc release. More
Sultry songstress Maria Muldaur, backed by an array of talented musicians, brings her forthright, smoky vocals to her second album for Telarc. More
Maria Muldaur reverts readily to her roots music on Telarc Blues' Fanning the Flames blending raw blues with heartwarming gospel, Memphis-styled… More