Mean What You Say

Pepper Adams Quintet

Mean What You Say OJCCD 464 2
  • CAT # OJCCD-464-25

    1. Mean What You Say 4:33
    2. H And T Blues 7:37
    3. Wives And Lovers 4:50
    4. Bossa Nova Ova 3:17
    5. No Refill 4:34
    6. Little Waltz 6:25
    7. Chant 5:18
    8. Yes Sir, That's My Baby 2:36

Old Detroit buddies and close musical colleagues, Thad Jones and Pepper Adams had a long history of empathy and shared successes when they made Mean What You Say in early 1966. This quintet had existed before establishment of the big band co-led by Jones and Mel Lewis, the orchestra of which Adams was so important a part. The title tune here, in fact, was transmuted into one of the Jones-Lewis orchestra's first recorded numbers. With Ron Carter and Duke Pearson, Adams, Jones, and Lewis recorded a session in which the music was full of lyricism, power, and humor. As in his big band charts, Jones's sophisticated writing is a major reason for the success of the session. There is also an original apiece from Carter and Pearson, and a wacky treatment of "Yes Sir, That's My Baby."

Mean What You Say, H and T Blues, Wives and Lovers, Bossa Nova Ova, No Refill, Little Waltz, Chant; Yes Sir, That's My Baby

with Duke Pearson, Ron Carter, Mel Lewis

Find out more about Pepper Adams Quintet


Perhaps the reunion of so many great Detroit jazzmen (Pepper Adams, Tommy Flanagan, and Elvin Jones all having arrived in New York in the… More


One of the very earliest of Riverside's many noted on-the-job recordings. The limited technology of the Fifties made such "live" efforts risky… More