Medicine Show Man, Vol. 2

Pink Anderson

Medicine Show Man Vol 2
  • CAT # OBCCD-587-25

    1. I Got Mine 3:37
    2. Greasy Greens 2:56
    3. I Got A Woman 'Way Cross Town 2:58
    4. Travelin' Man 4:35
    5. Ain't Nobody Home But Me 4:16
    6. That's No Way To Do 2:31
    7. In The Jailhouse Now 4:32
    8. South Forest Boogie 3:57
    9. Chicken 4:10
    10. I'm Going To Walk Through The Streets Of The City 2:56

Born in Laurens, South Carolina in 1900 and raised in nearby Spartanburg, songster Pinkney Anderson spent more than forty years (1915-1957) crisscrossing the Southern states as a singer, dancer, and guitarist with medicine shows. This, the second of three magnificent albums he made for Prestige/Bluesville in 1961, offers a satisfying sample of the stylistic variety he served up on those shows: minstrel tunes, folk songs, rags, a hillbilly hit, a boogie blues, even a bit of r&b. Like the mouth-watering soul food Anderson describes in "Greasy Greens," the music on this disc is so tasty it'll make you want to keep coming back for more.

I Got Mine, Greasy Greens, I Got a Woman ’Way Cross Town, Travelin’ Man, Ain’t Nobody Home But Me, That’s No Way to Do, in The Jailhouse Now, South Forest Boogie, Chicken, I’m Going to Walk Through the Streets of the City

Find out more about Pink Anderson


Pinkney Anderson (1900-74) is today revered as one of the greatest of the Piedmont-style guitar-picking songsters, an inspiration to the British… More
Pink Anderson was never a big name on the blues circuit, yet he was perhaps the most polished and personal of all the rural bluesmen who recorded… More