Misterioso MP3 OJCCD 206 25
  • CAT # OJCCD-206-25

    1. Nutty 5:20
    2. Blues Five Spot 8:11
    3. Let's Cool One 9:14
    4. In Walked Bud 11:21
    5. Just A Gigolo 2:08
    6. Misterioso 10:48
    7. 'Round Midnight 6:19
    8. Evidence 10:17

The most impressive point to be made about this record is that it is a product of precisely the same night's work as the earlier Riverside album, Thelonious in Action (now OJCCD-103-2); the two are in all respects a matched set. On the evening of August 7, 1958, recording equipment was rather precariously set up in the always-overcrowded Five Spot, the room where Monk had made his triumphant recent return to the New York club scene and was now appearing with a new quartet featuring Johnny Griffin. This turned out to be the first successful live recording of Thelonious (he had rejected the results of a night's work here a month earlier), and the substantial numbers of Monk-approved performances were readily programmed onto two full and equally memorable albums.

with Johnny Griffin, Ahmed Abdul-Malik, Roy Haynes

Find out more about Thelonious Monk Quartet


With 15 jam-packed CDs and a well-designed LP-sized booklet with beautiful photos inside, this is the mother of all Thelonious Monk collections… More


The place: one of New York's most celebrated jazz rooms, the Five Spot. The time: summer 1958. The leader is the great Thelonious Monk, at the… More