Montreux 77 OJCCD 380 2
  • Release Date: 18 Jul 1989
  • Label: PABLO
  • Genre: JAZZ
  • CAT # OJCCD-380-2

    1. Cote D'azur 8:57
    2. Pennies From Heaven 3:16
    3. Samba De Orfeu 13:40
    4. God Bless The Child 7:05
    5. Sweethearts On Parade 4:16

All of the players in this stimulating session were old friends. And, with the exception of Ronnie Scott, they were frequent musical collaborators. Scott’s name is familiar to most jazz listeners not because of his playing but because it is also borne by the famous club he operates in London. Here, his tenor saxophone is heard in the heavy company of the Oscar Peterson Trio plus Joe Pass, Clark Terry, and Milt Jackson. The departures from standard jam session fare include an unusually lively and spirited version of the bossa nova classic “Samba de Orfeu” and Terry’s gorgeous treatment of “God Bless the Child.”

with Milt Jackson, Clark Terry, Ronnie Scott, Oscar Peterson, Joe Pass, Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen, Bobby Durham

Find out more about The Pablo All-Stars Jam