Morning Mist

Chuck Wayne

Morning Mist
  • CAT # OJCCD-1097-25

    1. Goodbye 2:28
    2. See Saw 3:08
    3. Li'l Darlin' 4:06
    4. I'll Get Along 2:29
    5. Things Ain't What They Used To Be 3:14
    6. Shalimar 3:29
    7. Someone To Watch Over Me 2:45
    8. The Song Is You 2:56
    9. Alone At Last 2:08
    10. Lovely 2:50

It takes a certain confidence to start an album--only his fourth as a leader, and first for a major jazz label--with a elegiac number like "Goodbye," but that's just how guitarist Chuck Wayne kicked off Morning Mist. But then, Wayne's credentials extended for miles--from jazz (52nd Street during its heyday, George Shearing, Woody Herman, Gil Evans), to singers (Tony Bennett), to CBS-TV and Broadway and various jingles. Though not terribly well known to the general public, Wayne (b. Charles Jagelka, 1923; d. 1997) was a guitarist's guitarist, who could also play bebop banjo (as on this set's "Lovely"), as well as mandolin and balalaika. Morning Mist, a trio date from 1964, is notable for its winsome chordal theme statements, stirring single-note solos, pensive balladry, and uptempo dexterity. Chuck Wayne was not only a guitarist's guitarist, but a musician's musician.

with Joe Williams, Ronny Bedford

Find out more about Chuck Wayne