Music Of Guiliani

David Russell

Music Of Guiliani
  • CAT # 80525-25

    1. Grande Ouverture, Op. 61: Andante sostenuto; Allegro maestoso 8:06
    2. Rossiniana No. 1, Op. 119 16:12
    3. Rossiniana No. 3, Op. 121 15:20
    4. Sonata Eroica, Op. 150: Allegro maestoso 9:39
    5. Sonata in C major, Op. 15: I. Allegro spirito 5:44
    6. Sonata in C major, Op. 15: II. Adagio: Con grand espressione 5:03
    7. Sonata in C major, Op. 15: III. Allegro vivace 4:43

Mauro Giuliani (1781-1829) was a renowned guitarist/composer of the late 18th and early 19th centuries. His virtuosity on the instrument earned him the sobriquet “the Paganini of the Guitar” in Europe. After settling in Vienna in 1806, he became a favorite of the Archduchess Marie Louise of Austria (Napoleon’s second wife). He was much admired by, and worked with, many of the greatest musicians of the day, including Beethoven, Rossini, Hummel, Schubert, and Spohr.

Written in a Classical and Post-Classical style, Giuliani’s works were often praised for being so skillfully adapted to the tone and technical demands of the six-string guitar. One of his most popular works was the Grande Overture, Op. 61, which was the first to appear in print outside Vienna.

The popularity of Rossini during this time is reflected in the six Rossiniana, Op. 119-124, which Giuliani composed on arias taken from Rossini operas.

The single-movement Sonata Eroica, Op. 150, was published posthumously in 1840 by Ricordi.

Classical guitarist David Russell has made four previous recordings for Telarc, including the music of Latin composers Barrios and Moreno-Torroba; guitar concertos of Rodrigo; and an album of arrangements of Scottish and Irish folk music and dances titled Message of the Sea (CD-80492). Winner of numerous international guitar competitions, including the Andrés Segovia Competition and the prestigious Francisco Tarrega Competition in Spain, he has twice been the recipient of the Julian Bream Guitar prize, and was recently named a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Music in London.

Find out more about David Russell


2012 release from the Grammy-winning Classical guitarist. In a return to baroque, the repertoire that David Russell is best known for, The… More
David Russell Records Music Of Isaac Albéniz For Telarc. More
David Russell discovers the soul of Spanish music on Sonidos Latinos. More
David Russell Records First Disc of Solo Contemporary Works For David includes compositions by Sergio Assad, Steve Goss, Francis… More
GRAMMY® Award-winning guitarist David Russell returns with Air on a G String, baroque masterpieces by Bach, Couperin, Saint-Luc, and Weiss… More
GRAMMY AWARD WINNER DAVID RUSSELL SHINES ON ART OF THE GUITAR GRAMMY Award winning guitarist David Russell is a world-class… More
GRAMMY-award winning classical guitarist David Russell takes listeners on a captivating journey back to the Renaissance period with Renaissance… More
Celebrating his tenth anniversary with Telarc, David Russell brings the mythology of Spain and its rich musical tradition to life in this tribute… More
Aire Latino, a collection of Latin American music for guitar performed by David Russell, brings together some of the most characteristic… More
Today, more than two and a half centuries after Bach’s passing, lute players are all but extinct—even in classical music circles. But… More
Renowned classical guitarist David Russell brings passion and style to an all-Spanish program for Telarc, which features some of the best-loved… More
Renowned classical guitarist David Russell makes his first all-baroque recording for Telarc, with his own completely new transcriptions and… More