Dewey Redman

Musics MP3
  • CAT # OJCCD-1860-25

    1. Need To Be 10:15
    2. (The) Virgin Strike (March) 5:37
    3. Alone Again (Naturally) 6:25
    4. Unknown Tongue 9:08
    5. One Beautiful Day 5:38
    6. Daystar Nightlight 6:05

When Dewey Redman recorded Musics, he was splitting his time between Old and New Dreams and the present quartet. This band had completed a lengthy European tour shortly before the session, and was intimately acquainted with all of Redman's diverse material. Given the inclusion of a samba, a march, an unexpected and highly effective pop cover, an exotic musette feature with an Afro-Cuban interlude recalling Dizzy Gillespie, a fantasia for autoharp that would do Sun Ra proud, and a haunting original ballad, the well-named album takes on a distinctive "world" flavor years before the concept gained popularity. The leader, plus stalwarts Mark Helias and Eddie Moore, deliver consistently strong playing throughout.

with Fred Simmons, Mark Helias, Eddie Moore

Find out more about Dewey Redman