New Orleans: The Living Legends

Percy Humphrey's Crescent City Joymakers

New Orleans The Living Legends OJCCD 1834 2
  • CAT # OJCCD-1834-25

    1. Milenberg Joys 2:46
    2. Over In Gloryland 3:58
    3. Lonesome Road 6:05
    4. We Shall Walk Through The Streets Of The City 3:54
    5. Weary Blues 3:20
    6. Bucket Got A Hole In It 5:58
    7. All The Gals Like The Way I Ride 2:47
    8. Rip 'em Up Joe 4:03
    9. Climax Rag 3:34

Trumpeter Percy Humphrey, youngest of three talented brothers, is a product of the pre-jazz tradition of New Orleans music. He learned from his grandfather Jim Humphrey, one of the city’s greatest teachers, and was best known for his work as leader of the Eureka Brass Band prior to this 1961 recording. While Percy and his siblings made up a classic front line all by themselves, he is joined here by the equally sympathetic Louis Nelson on trombone and Albert Burbank on clarinet, in a program rich in the traditional material that was central to joymaking in the Crescent City.

with Louis Nelson, Albert Burbank, Emmanuel Sayles, Louis James, Josiah Fraiser

Find out more about Percy Humphrey's Crescent City Joymakers