Dave Brubeck

NightShift MP3
  • Release Date: 01 Mar 1995
  • Label: TELARC
  • Genre: JAZZ
  • CAT # 83351-25

    1. Yesterdays 11:33
    2. I Can't Give You Anything But Love 10:59
    3. Travelin' Blues 8:34
    4. Thank You 4:38
    5. You Go to My Head 6:39
    6. Blues For Newport 5:47
    7. Ain't Misbehavin' 7:09
    8. Knives 6:45
    9. River Stay 'Way From My Door 6:24
On NightShift, in the intimate setting of New York's Blue Note jazz club, Brubeck—with his illustrious team of musicians—showcases another side, performing a swinging session following the chart-topping successes of his pensive Late Night Brubeck, and reflective solo piano album, Just You, Just Me. The American jazz legend swings in a session full of dynamic surprises as NightShift features Brubeck's fresh fashionings, rhythmic shifts, pithy emotion and resplendent technique.

Brubeck includes four originals in these nine soulfully swinging jazz standards, and masters the pieces along with his regular cohorts—reedman Bobby Militello, bassist Jack Six, drummer Randy Jones, clarinetist Bill Smith and trombonist Christ Brubeck. NightShift features diverse selections from Brubeck’s vast repertoire, including highlights like “Knives,” an exciting textural piece from his large-scale orchestral composition, and an inventive interpretation of Jerome Kern’s “Yesterdays.” Brubeck brings his talent and technique to the table on this must-have CD.

Find out more about Dave Brubeck


This set is a near-classic, one of many from this period, by the Dave Brubeck Quartet. Drummer Joe Dodge had just joined the group, and he works… More


Dave Brubeck covers a host of favorite carols on this solo outing. His chime-like "Joy to the World" and striding "Winter… More
Concord Music Group is launching five new titles in its Very Best Of jazz series, which showcases some of the very best tracks culled from the… More
The Definitive Dave Brubeck on Fantasy, Concord Jazz and Telarc celebrates the music legend's 90th birthday; reaches back to brubeck’s… More
Much of the success of Dave Brubeck’s career is founded on his original compositions or, in the case of “Take Five,” one by Paul… More
Of all the kingpins of West Coast (or “cool”) jazz, Dave Brubeck (b. 1920) has forged the most enduring and successful career, both as… More
Personnel: Dave Brubeck, piano; and various others, including Paul Desmond, alto saxophone; Gerry Mulligan, baritone saxophone; Bill Smith… More
Indian Summer is Dave Brubeck’s first solo piano recording since his historically resonant 2004 release, Private Brubeck Remembers. This… More
In celebration of Dave Brubeck’s 60th Anniversary of his recording debut, Concord Music Group… More
Just in time for the 60th anniversary of D-Day, Telarc will release Private Brubeck Remembers, a collection of solo piano renditions of some of… More
As part of a series of selected CD releases from Marian McPartland’s Peadbody Award-winning Piano Jazz radio show, as heard on National… More
"His pieces blend the swing-to-barrelhouse aesthetic of his youth with a long established predisposition toward classical forms, complex… More
In 1958, the Dave Brubeck Quartet toured England for the first time. Forty years later, they return triumphantly with new material and to… More