Northern Windows Plus

Hampton Hawes

Northern Windows Plus
  • CAT # PRCD-24278-25

    1. Playin' In The Yard 10:55
    2. Double Trouble 8:52
    3. Pink Peaches 5:04
    4. De De 8:33
    5. Stella By Starlight 7:34
    6. Sierra Morena 3:53
    7. Go Down Moses 6:27
    8. Bach 3:00
    9. Web 3:31
    10. Tune Axle Grease 5:05
    11. C & H Sugar 11:35

The funkiest jazz pianist based on the West Coast, Hampton Hawes (1928-1977) made four LPs for Prestige in the early 1970s, at about the same time he began playing the electric piano. The two LPs paired here showcase Hawes on both instruments. Aside from his unifying pianistic presence, the two albums--one live, the other very much a studio date--are unequivocally different. The in-concert performance is more loose. On Sonny Rollins's funk-calypso title track, Hawes's treatment is straight-ahead and bluesy, while on "Stella by Starlight," he moves compellingly from the grand piano to the electric and back again to the grand. Staunch support is provided by Bob Cranshaw and the Zeus of modern drumming, Kenny Clarke. In the studio, another Hawes trio, this one with the outstanding L.A. session player Carol Kaye on bass, is augmented by a six-man horn section arranged by David Axelrod. The mood is decidely '70s-contemporary, but Hawes's genuinely funky lines bring Southern soul through the Northern Windows.

with George Bohanon, Kenny Clarke, Bob Cranshaw, Allen DeRienzo, William Green, Carol Kaye, Jackie Kelso, Jay Migliori, Spider Webb, Snooky Young

Find out more about Hampton Hawes


Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.


A 1947 encounter with Charlie Parker may have been the defining moment in Hampton Hawes's musical development, but the spirituals he heard while… More
This album, made less than a year before Hampton Hawes's death, is the final chapter in one of the great artist/producer partnerships of the… More
with Denny Diaz, Leroy Vinnegar, Al Williams Recorded June 10, 1976. More
This was the last recording together of Hampton Hawes and Red Mitchell, whose bass had been an extension of the pianist's musical thinking for… More
This 1964 recording was Hampton Hawes’s first in more than five years. It radiates the sense of freedom the pianist felt after John F… More
There is irony in the history of The Sermon, one of the most directly affecting of Hampton Hawes's 14 albums for Contemporary. He… More
with Harold Land, Scott LaFaro, Frank Butler Recorded March 17, 1958. More
Though much later in his career Hampton Hawes experimented with electronic keyboards and fusion music, at heart he was a bebopper, as this session… More
With its unforgettable hip-alligator cover, Everybody Likes Hampton Hawes was not only one of the late pianist's most popular trio albums… More
Hampton Hawes (1928-1977) was one of the most gifted and natural of jazz musicians, an artist who played mostly by ear and who was a superbly… More
The second in the excellent series of recordings Hampton Hawes did in a trio setting for Contemporary, it again included Red Mitchell and Chuck… More
One of the forces in West Coast jazz circles, even from his neophyte days of the late Forties, was Hampton Hawes. When he played with the… More