A Little More Faith

Rev. Gary Davis

A Little More Faith
  • CAT # OBCCD-588-25

    1. You Got To Move 3:15
    2. Crucifixion 4:53
    3. I'm Glad I'm In That Number 2:58
    4. There's A Table Sittin' In Heaven 3:28
    5. Motherless Children 4:09
    6. There's A Bright Side Somewhere 3:12
    7. I'll Be All Right Some Day 3:03
    8. You Better Mind 3:26
    9. A Little More Faith
    10. I'll Fly Away 4:32
    11. God's Gonna Separate 3:35
    12. When I Die I'll Live Again 3:28

Born in Laurens, South Carolina in 1896, the blind singer-guitarist Gary Davis settled in New York City in 1935 and earned his living performing blues and rags on the streets of Harlem, throwing in occasional religious numbers to help keep the cops at bay. He eventually got serious about the Lord, became an ordained minister, and dropped blues from his repertoire. The dozen sanctified selections on this disc, the second of Davis's three albums for Prestige/Bluesville, feature his distinctively gruff voice and lots of the dazzling ragtime-imbued guitar artistry that so influenced such pickers as Blind Boy Fuller, Dave Van Ronk, Bob Dylan, Taj Mahal, Ry Cooder, and Jorma Kaukonen.

Find out more about Rev. Gary Davis


The blind street singer Gary Davis (1896-1972) may have been a minister of the gospel, but he kept one foot in the secular realm. He was quite… More
Recorded during a three hour session on August 24, 1960, Gary Davis laid down 12 of his most impassioned spirituals for Harlem Street Singer… More