Organic Vibes

Joey DeFrancesco

Organic Vibes
  • CAT # CCD-2306-25

    1. The Tackle 8:14
    2. Little B's Poem 6:36
    3. I Thought About You 9:26
    4. Somewhere In The Night 8:35
    5. Down The Hatch 6:51
    6. Speak Low 7:56
    7. JeNeane's Dream 4:21
    8. My Foolish Heart 6:08
    9. Colleen 6:46

Organic Vibes is not just a momentous, transgenerational meeting of major soloists, it brings together the heirs apparent to the foremost modern jazz soloists on their respective instruments. Organist Joey DeFrancesco (b. 1971) is, quite simply, the most startlingly virtuosic voice on the Hammond B-3 since his idol and friend, Jimmy Smith. Bobby Hutcherson (b. 1941), who came to prominence in the 1960s, is widely considered to be most inventive vibraphonist since the late Milt Jackson set the modern standard in the mid-1940s.

On Organic Vibes, the duo is joined at various times by the titanic tenor saxophonist George Coleman and/or multi-reedman Ron Blake (another felicitous transgenerational pairing), plus the other members of DeFrancesco's current trio, guitarist Jake Langley and longtime drummer Byron Landham. Essaying a well-balanced repertoire of standards and originals, burners and ballads, and, of course, the blues, DeFrancesco, Hutcherson, and company have made an album that is sure to appeal to all generations who revere the eternal verities of jazz.

Find out more about Joey DeFrancesco


The latest offering by the man widely acknowledged as the successor to Jimmy Smith as King of the Hammond B-3 captures all the excitement and pure… More
Joey DeFrancesco's virtuoso technique, innate soulfulness, and unending reservoir of creative, blues-drenched harmonic and melodic ideas have made… More
Joey DeFrancesco is one of the most awe-inspiring and prodigiously talented organists in jazz today. But, as his new album Singin’ &… More
October 28, 1999 at the San Francisco Jazz Festival was one of those nights where there was something special in the air even before a note had… More
Joey DeFrancesco (Hammond B-3 organ), Frank Vignola (guitar), Joe Ascione (drums) - three musicians who go together like spaghetti, garlic bread… More