Sophisticated Lady: The Duke Ellington Songbook Collection

Sarah Vaughan

Sophisticated Lady The Duke Ellington Songbook Col
  • Release Date: 20 Aug 2013
  • Label: PABLO
  • Genre: JAZZ
  • CAT # PAB-34608-02

    DISC ONE  
    1. Sophisticated Lady (Previously Unreleased) 3:49
    2. In a Sentimental Mood (Previously Unreleased) 3:55
    3. Lush Life (Previously Unreleased) 4:36
    4. Solitude (Previously Unreleased) 3:52
    5. Day Dream (Previously Unreleased) 3:30
    6. Tonight I Shall Sleep (With a Smile On My Face) [Previously Unreleased] 4:18
    7. Sophisticated Lady 4:07
    8. Solitude 4:28
    9. Day Dream 5:01
    10. All Too Soon 3:49
    11. What Am I Here For 3:34
    12. I'm Just A Lucky So And So 4:30
    13. Chelsea Bridge 3:25
    14. Mood Indigo 5:04
    15. I Didn't Know About You 4:10
    DISC TWO  
    1. I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart 3:34
    2. Black Butterfly 3:02
    3. In A Mellow Tone 3:21
    4. It Don't Mean A Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing) 2:29
    5. In A Sentimental Mood 4:23
    6. Lush Life 4:30
    7. I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good) 4:32
    8. Tonight I Shall Sleep (With A Smile On My Face) 3:58
    9. Rocks In My Bed 5:22
    10. Prelude To A Kiss 5:57
    11. Everything But You 5:29
    12. I Ain't Got Nothin' But The Blues 4:34

Concord Music Group will release the two-CD Sarah Vaughan set Sophisticated Lady: The Duke Ellington Songbook Collection on August 20, 2013. Featuring six previously unreleased tracks and new liner notes, the compilation celebrates the 40th anniversary of Pablo Records, the jazz label founded by Norman Granz in 1973.

The story of Pablo Records is a story of one veteran producer's return to the music he loved best. Norman Granz, founder of Jazz at the Philharmonic, so missed the recording aspect of the music business - which he'd abandoned in 1962 when he sold his Clef, Norgran, and Verve labels to MGM - that a little more than a decade later he decided to take the plunge and start up yet another label. Based in Beverly Hills, California, at the time, Granz secured a distribution deal and launched Pablo Records in 1973, quickly building a world-class catalog of albums by legendary artists Ella Fitzgerald, Joe Pass, and Oscar Peterson - all of whom Granz managed - as well as Count Basie, John Coltrane, Duke Ellington, Dizzy Gillespie, Art Tatum, Sarah Vaughan, and many others. After releasing more than 350 albums in a span of less than 15 years, Granz sold Pablo to Fantasy in 1987, which in turn merged with Concord Records in 2004 to form Concord Music Group.

Recorded between August 1979 and January 1980, Sophisticated Lady: The Duke Ellington Collection is a two-disc set that features six previously unreleased recordings along with classic tracks originally from Vaughan's 1980 albums of Duke's music, Duke Ellington Song Book One and Duke Ellington Song Book Two.

"What makes this reissue especially significant," says Tad Hershorn, archivist at the Rutgers University Institute of Jazz Studies and author of the collection's liner notes, "is a rare confluence of what I have come to think of as ‘late breaking history' and late-breaking news: this collection is both. In this case, it is the inclusion of six previously unreleased recordings of arrangements by the peerless Benny Carter which opens this collection of the Vaughan-Ellington recordings, presented chronologically by recording date."

The six Carter-arranged tracks - "Sophisticated Lady," "In a Sentimental Mood," "Lush Life," "Solitude," "Day Dream," and "Tonight I Shall Sleep (With a Smile on My Face)" - include what Hershorn calls "a lush orchestral backdrop" of big band and string arrangements, along with shining solo work by Zoot Sims on tenor saxophone. "These are not alternate takes. They are recordings of entirely different arrangements of the songs than those that were released on the original Ellington Songbook albums," says compilation producer Nick Phillips. "It's fascinating now to not only hear, for the first time, each of these six newly discovered arrangements and recordings and appreciate them on their own merits, but also to be able to compare and contrast the very different arranging approaches to the same songs."

Regardless of the song arrangements, one fact about Sarah Vaughan remains perfectly clear while listening to Sophisticated Lady: "She's one of the greatest jazz vocalists of all time," says Phillips. "Her singing throughout this collection certainly underscores that."

Find out more about Sarah Vaughan


Sarah Vaughan (1924-1990) was blessed with a singularly remarkable vocal instrument, a four-octave contralto capable of shaking down the stars or… More
This previously unreleased live album features Sarah Vaughan in vocals, Billy Mays playing piano, Bob Magnusson groovin' the bass and Jimmy Cobbs… More
with Helio Delmiro, Andy Simpkins, Edson Frederico, Grady Tate, Wilson Das Neves More
with Pee Wee Crayton, Lloyd Glenn, Roy McCurdy, Joe Pass, Bucky Pizzarelli, Charles Randell, Waymon Reed, Jimmy Rowles, Andy Simpkins, Grady Tate… More
with Nelson Angelo, Ariovaldo, Sergio Barroso, Chico Batera, Claudio Bertrami, José Roberto Bertrami, Danilo Caymmi, Dori Caymmi, Dorival… More
with J.J. Johnson, Joe Pass, Waymon Reed, Jimmy Rowles, Andy Simpkins, Zoot Sims, Grady Tate, Frank Wess, and others Recorded… More
with Jimmy Jones, Richard Davis, Roy Haynes, Joe Pass, Roland Hanna, Andy Simpkins, Harold Jones, Waymon Reed, Frank Foster, Bucky Pizzarelli… More
with the Count Basie Orchestra, Oscar Peterson, Joe Pass, Louis Bellson, Ray Brown, Jimmy Rowles, Frank Wess, and others More
Sarah Vaughan and her working trio team here with the "no Count" Basie band for this 1981 collection--their first studio meeting in 20… More
with Joe Pass, Roland Hanna, Andy Simpkins, Harold Jones Recorded March 1 and 2, 1982. More
with Oscar Peterson, Joe Pass, Ray Brown, Louis Bellson Recorded April 25, 1978. More