Walkin' [Rudy Van Gelder Remaster]

Miles Davis All Stars

Walkin Rudy Van Gelder Remaster
  • CAT # PRCD-30008-25

    1. Walkin' 13:26
    2. Blue 'N' Boogie 8:15
    3. Solar 4:44
    4. You Don't Know What Love Is 4:22
    5. Love Me Or Leave Me 6:55

Back in New York after successfully battling personal demons, and at the helm of the incredible Horace Silver/Percy Heath/Kenny Clarke rhythm section, Miles Davis cut a pair of sessions in April 1954 that announced where both his own music and jazz in general were heading. The quintet date, with underground legend Davey Schildkraut on alto sax, provided the first inkling of the trumpeter’s haunting muted style and introduced his classic composition “Solar.” Even more influential was the sextet session with J.J. Johnson and Lucky Thompson, which took advantage of long-playing record technology with two extended jams that announced both the return of modern jazz musicians to a focus on the blues and the coming of the funky hard-bop era. Together on the LP Walkin’, this music (among the first to be recorded for Prestige by Rudy Van Gelder) created one of the earliest essential albums in the Miles Davis canon.

Find out more about Miles Davis All Stars


A short, but intensely cool set from a formidable quintet led by Miles Davis and featuring Teddy Charles on vibes, Elvin Jones on drums, Charles… More


Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.
This contains two of the classic Miles Davis sessions of 1954 which made all the critics who hailed his appearance at the 1955 Newport Jazz… More