Passage: 138 B.C. - A.D. 1611

Empire Brass

Passage 138 BC AD 1611
  • CAT # 80355-25

    1. Haec Dies 2:00
    2. Spiritual Dance 3:53
    3. Minimal
    4. Sibley Sanctus Lydian 4:02
    5. De Profundis 7:04
    6. Johann Weck / Francisco de la Torre: Hopper Dance 5:53
    7. Instrumental
    8. Si Dolce 5:19
    9. Factus Est Repente 1:07
    10. Sun Credo 6:58
    11. Scandinavian Chant
    12. First Delphic Hymn 2:31
    13. Dilectus Meus 1:06
    14. Paccantem Me Quotidie 5:49
    15. Lydian 1:10
    16. The Melancholy of Departure 5:12

With the approach of the millennium, many are being drawn to ancient traditions that reveal simple truths about life and faith. So tightly linked are the roots of modal music to ancient traditions that these works of chant-based music disclose many practices of the distant past.

On Passage, modern-day instruments (synthesizers, electronic and acoustic percussion, guitars) are added to the Empire Brass to transport this intensely spiritual music dating from 138 B.C. to A.D. 1611 into the late twentieth century. With this new rhythmic emphasis, the music takes on a broadened emotional intensity. This album was conceived by Rolf Smedvig, leader of the Empire Brass Quintet. Smedvig was joined by seasoned pop and jazz percussionist Kurt Wortman who created the rhythm tracks. Together, they brought to Telarc not only the most innovative crossover album of 1994, but this diverse release in this very popular genre.

Find out more about Empire Brass


The internationally renowned Empire Brass bring their signature blend of style and virtuosity to a disc of new and innovative arrangements of… More
In celebration of their twenty-fifth anniversary year, the Empire Brass Quintet is showcased in a program of highlights from their Telarc… More
The Empire Brass Quintet enjoys an international reputation as North America's finest brass quintet, renowned for its brilliant virtuosity and the… More
In the spirit of Passage, Telarc's Empire Brass Quintet and guests bring together elements of rock music and a European Renaissance sound for a… More
Empire Brass plays transcriptions of Mozart's music. More
"The quality of the Empire Brass ensemble is immaculate...each player demonstrates considerable sensitivity as chamber musicians as well as… More
Empire Brass performs a disc of Broadway favorites. More
Empire Brass perform music of Debussy, Falla and other composers transcribed for brass quintet. More
Empire Brass plays Ellington standards with verve. More
Empire Brass plays music from the Renaissance and Baroque transcribed for brass quintet. More
"We're always looking for a new audience, people who, because of their love of a certain piece of music, will listen and be introduced to our… More
The magnificent Empire Brass plays selections from Bernstein's "West Side Story" and Gershwin's "Porgy and Bess" as well as a commission by… More