Portrait Of Wes

Wes Montgomery Trio

Portrait Of Wes
  • CAT # OJCCD-144-25

    1. Freddie Freeloader 5:14
    2. Lolita 6:32
    3. Blues Riff 6:16
    4. Blues Riff (Take 8) 6:16
    5. Dangerous 6:59
    6. Yesterday's Child 4:13
    7. Moanin' 5:46
    8. Moanin' (Take 7) 5:46

Wes Montgomery's last sessions for Riverside late in 1963 marked a return to the organ trio format he always enjoyed. But the results had not yet been issued when the company ceased operations. This LP (now on CD), released during a brief attempt to resume, was assembled without any input from either the artist or his producer. Thus the issued version of "Moanin'" was not one Wes liked and several liner credit errors went uncorrected [for example, the actual composer of "Lolita" is Barry Harris and the tune "Movin' Along" is an entirely different blues also written by Montgomery and later titled "Blues Riff"]. Nonetheless these are strong earthy performances in an always hard to find album that was only fleetingly available when originally issued.

with Mel Rhyne, George Brown

Find out more about Wes Montgomery Trio


Full House is the seventh and first live jazz album by American jazz legend, guitarist Wes Montgomery. Newly reissued on vinyl, this is an… More


It is surely a great rarity to be able to rediscover the exact beginnings of a major artist. Something quite close to that occurs here: when… More
Guitar on the Go can be identified as the very last of Wes Montgomery's remarkable series of recordings for Riverside, the first company to… More
Special offer for beautifully packaged Japan import while supplies last. More