Ravel: Bolero

Jacques Loussier Trio

Ravel Bolero
  • Release Date: 01 May 1999
  • Label: TELARC
  • Genre: JAZZ
  • CAT # 83466-25

    1. Boléro 17:11
    2. Nympheas: I. Allegro
    3. Nympheas: II. Andante
    4. Nympheas: III. Vivace
    5. Nympheas: IV. Largo
    6. Nympheas: V. Presto
    7. Nympheas: VI. Cantabile
    8. Nympheas: VII. Prestissimo

Although pianist/composer Jacques Loussier is best known for his groundbreaking J.S. Bach albums, his ability to reinvent the work of other composers is equally amazing. Ravel’s Boléro covers two very different aspects of impressionism: a new interpretation of "Boléro" by Maurice Ravel (1875-1937) and seven short compositions by Loussier that were inspired by Claude Monet’s paintings of waterlilies or "Nymphéas." While his emotions are wrapped up in the music and time of Ravel, it is Loussier’s resourceful ability to dance between the borders of jazz and classical music that is most likely to give his latest Telarc release its enduring appeal.

"Boléro," the first piece on the disc, remains beautifully hypnotic, shifting music. The piece is still recognizably Ravel. Yet without leaving the true sentiment of the composer, Loussier brings out the jazz feeling that was always present. He offers a masterful interpretation, maintaining a balance between his own invention and the essence of the original composition. "Boléro" demonstrates not just how Loussier approaches jazz or classical, but how he approaches music.

The second section of the disc features the seven lyrical "Nymphéas." Inspired by Monet’s final massive paintings, these new pieces explore musical color, nuance, and impressionism. Loussier’s feeling here is close in musical terms to the work of Keith Jarrett, and it’s not surprising that Loussier names him among the jazz players he listens to most. A complete musician, but a gentle technical showman, Loussier’s mastery of the keyboard appears more as sparkling musical expression than agility or brilliance.

Find out more about Jacques Loussier Trio


For more than six decades, pianist Jacques Loussier has explored where the structure and traditions of classical music intersect with the… More
"This particular work by Schumann is ideal for reinterpretation in a jazz setting," says Loussier. More
Jacques Loussier Trio Celebrates a Half-Centruy of Classical-Jazz Innovation More
Jacques Loussier recorded this two-disc collection in 1991 and 1992 with his newly formed Play Bach Trio. The set spotlights Loussier's numerous… More
For more than four decades, pianist Jacques Loussier has maintained a long and prolific association with Johann Sebastian Bach. As frontman in the… More
Following up on the success of his interpretation of Beethoven's Allegretto, from Symphony No. 7, and the Best of Play Bach, Jacques Loussier… More
The Jacques Loussier Trio, whose marriage of classical music and jazz has captivated fans of both genres worldwide for nearly four decades, brings… More
The ever-innovative Jacques Loussier Trio make crossover fireworks in a swinging recording of "royal" classics by Handel. More
French pianist/composer Jacques Loussier, the master of blending jazz in a classical style and Telarc's best-selling international artist, joins… More
Telarc's best-selling international artist brings his unique improvisatory style and imaginative tonal colors to the sensual, dreamlike music of… More
Only the founding father of the Play Bach Trio could sweep the cobwebs off this monumental opus! More
Jacques Loussier is the man who has brought Bach and jazz together more successfully than anyone in history with over six million copies sold… More