Ray Bryant Trio

Ray Bryant Trio

Ray Bryant Trio
  • CAT # OJCCD-793-25

    1. Golden Earrings 9:44
    2. Angel Eyes 3:55
    3. Blues Changes 7:08
    4. Splittin' 4:37
    5. Django 6:18
    6. The Thrill Is Gone 2:33
    7. Daahoud 5:42
    8. Sonar 6:40

Having made a good impression in 1955 with his playing on Miles Davis Quintet/Sextet (OJCCD-012-2) and then on an Epic LP, in 1957 Ray Bryant captured the undivided attention of the jazz world with this album, a perfect expression of his style and of the art of the piano trio. Bryant's understatement and fleetness were undergirded by the straightforwardness and rhythmic urgency of his gospel background and the complexity of his modern harmonic understanding. Ray Bryant Trio established Bryant as one of the most important pianists of his generation.

Golden Earrings, Angel Eyes, Blues Changes, Splittin', Django, The Thrill Is Gone, Daahoud, Sonar

with Ike Isaacs, Specs Wright

Find out more about Ray Bryant Trio


Ray Bryant has played with an impressive number of the most important jazz artists, including Charlie Parker, Lester Young, Sonny Rollins, Miles… More


Ray Bryant's sources are wide and deep. His art has roots in the Swing Era, bebop, and the gospel music of his youth. In the mid-1950s, he not… More
Ray Bryant is a complete modern jazz musician, capable of moving in the fastest company and meeting the most complex harmonic challenges. Yet his… More