Golden Age Gospel Quartets, Vol. 1 (1947-1954)

Various Artists

Golden Age Gospel Quartets Vol 1 1947 1954
  • CAT # SPCD-7069-2

    1. These Old Bones 2:27
    2. What Are They Doing In Heaven Today 2:36
    3. The Old Rugged Cross 4:56
    4. He Will Remember Me (arr.) 2:30
    5. Glory,glory, Since I Laid My Burden 3:38
    6. Where Shall I Be? 2:32
    7. He Means So Much To Me 2:34
    8. Heaven In My View 2:50
    9. Faith And Grace 2:35
    10. By And By 2:33
    11. Jesus Hits Like The Atom Bomb 2:25
    12. Jesus, I'm Thankful 2:19
    13. Let Jesus Lead You 2:37
    14. Mother, I Need Your Prayer 2:41
    15. Peace In The Valley 3:21
    16. Christ Is All 2:47
    17. Before This Time Another Year 2:39
    18. Leaning On The Lord 2:29
    19. I'm Coming Home 2:58
    20. He Won't Deny Me 2:25
    21. Weary Traveler 2:42
    22. My Old Home 2:32
    23. There Is A Fountain 2:50
    24. Marching Up To Zion 1:59
    25. Since Jesus Came Into My Heart 4:10
    26. He'll Be There 2:52

The accent is on harmony in this collection of 26 striking gospel quartet performances, the bulk of them sung entirely a cappella. Such major lights of gospel music's Golden Age as the Pilgrim Travelers, the Soul Stirrers (featuring R.H. Harris, Paul Foster, and Sam Cooke), the Swan Silvertones (featuring Claude Jeter), and the Five Blind Boys of Alabama (featuring Clarence Fountain) are presented alongside lesser known and often just as remarkable quartets like the Southern Harmonizers, Golden Echoes, Paramount Singers, Detroiters, Chosen Gospel Singers, and West Coast Jubilees. The majority of the tracks have been gathering dust in Specialty Records' vault for over 40 years and are now, at long last, seeing the light of day.

Find out more about Various Artists


Various Artists

Take Me To The River

Stax Records/Concord Music Group is proud to announce the release of Take Me To the River: Music From The Motion Picture. The companion… More

Various Artists

Sweetheart 2014

Just in time for Valentine's Day comes Sweetheart 2014, a collection of indelible, handpicked covers from a remarkable group of modern… More

Various Artists

A Slow Jams Jazz Christmas

From the original producers of the Slow Jams series comes a traditional take on the romance and splendor of the holiday season… More
Settle around the fireplace this holiday season with Mad Men Christmas: Music from and Inspired by the Hit TV Series on AMC. Produced by… More
The twists and turns of the American political system have long been turned into storied tales of deception, turmoil and mystery chronicling the… More
Star-Studded Cast Includes Elvis Costello, Sheryl Crow, Rosanne Cash, Neko Case, Kris Kristofferson, Dave & Phil Alvin, Taj Mahal, Ryan Bingham… More
Beginning today, the all-star recording of Ghost Brothers of Darkland County (Hear Music/Concord Music Group), the highly anticipated… More

Various Artists

True Blues

Guy Davis, Shemekia Copeland, Corey Harris, Alvin Youngblood Hart, and Taj Mahal join forces for True Blues, a collaboration of the best blues… More
Just Tell Me That You Want Me: A Tribute to Fleetwood Mac is a striking 17-track collection of Fleetwood Mac covers from a diverse band of… More
Concord Records will release Smooth Jazz Hits: Ultimate Grooves, the latest installment in the series of smooth jazz… More
Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.
New Orleans is one of the country’s richest sources of traditional music, a city which pioneered jazz and the blues. From creators/executive… More