The EBB Records Story, Vol. 2: Blues 'n' Rhythm And Rock 'n' Roll, 1957-1959

Various Artists

The EBB Records Story Vol 2 Blues n Rhythm And Roc
  • CAT # SPCD-7073-2

    1. Chicken, Baby, Chicken 2:24
    2. No Buts, No Maybes 2:07
    3. What Is Life Without A Home (Domestic) 2:40
    4. Come On 2:12
    5. Keep Walking On (Dom. Uses Only) 2:12
    6. Days Are Dark 2:31
    7. Very Truly Yours 1:57
    8. If I Don't See You Again 2:05
    9. When I Get You Back 2:09
    10. The Weather's Stormy 2:03
    11. True Confession 2:24
    12. When The Deal Go Down 2:05
    13. Baby Let Me Hold Your Hand 1:48
    14. Misery 1:56
    15. Come Back 2:02
    16. My Silent Prayer 2:15
    17. True Lips 2:06
    18. Doncha Know 2:05
    19. She's My Witch 2:19
    20. Cha Cha Chu 2:45
    21. Looka, No Hair 2:07
    22. Cha Cha Chu 2:45
    23. Good Mornin' Baby 2:20
    24. Harlem Nocturne 5:50
    25. Darkness 2:20
    26. If You Please 2:16
    27. Time Brings About A Change 2:07
    28. I Wanna Know 1:49
    29. You Fascinate Me 1:59

Although it lasted three short years (1957-59), Lee Rupe's Ebb Records recorded a remarkable variety of music for such a little label. It was most commonly associated with doo-wop--the focus of a companion volume titled The Group Era (SPCD-7072-2)--but Ebb also delved deep into blues, R&B, and rockabilly territory. From the incendiary Little Richard-inspired rock 'n' roll of Tony Harris' "Chicken, Baby, Chicken" and the soaring soul-blues of falsetto master Ted Taylor's "Days of Dark" to the rhumba blues of Smokey Hogg's "Good Mornin' Baby" and the hard-shuffling New Orleans R&B of the four Professor Longhair titles, there's not an ebb in the musical flow of the 29 stunning tracks that comprise this collection.

Find out more about Various Artists


Various Artists

Take Me To The River

Stax Records/Concord Music Group is proud to announce the release of Take Me To the River: Music From The Motion Picture. The companion… More

Various Artists

Sweetheart 2014

Just in time for Valentine's Day comes Sweetheart 2014, a collection of indelible, handpicked covers from a remarkable group of modern… More

Various Artists

A Slow Jams Jazz Christmas

From the original producers of the Slow Jams series comes a traditional take on the romance and splendor of the holiday season… More
Settle around the fireplace this holiday season with Mad Men Christmas: Music from and Inspired by the Hit TV Series on AMC. Produced by… More
The twists and turns of the American political system have long been turned into storied tales of deception, turmoil and mystery chronicling the… More
Star-Studded Cast Includes Elvis Costello, Sheryl Crow, Rosanne Cash, Neko Case, Kris Kristofferson, Dave & Phil Alvin, Taj Mahal, Ryan Bingham… More
Beginning today, the all-star recording of Ghost Brothers of Darkland County (Hear Music/Concord Music Group), the highly anticipated… More

Various Artists

True Blues

Guy Davis, Shemekia Copeland, Corey Harris, Alvin Youngblood Hart, and Taj Mahal join forces for True Blues, a collaboration of the best blues… More
Just Tell Me That You Want Me: A Tribute to Fleetwood Mac is a striking 17-track collection of Fleetwood Mac covers from a diverse band of… More
Concord Records will release Smooth Jazz Hits: Ultimate Grooves, the latest installment in the series of smooth jazz… More
Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.
New Orleans is one of the country’s richest sources of traditional music, a city which pioneered jazz and the blues. From creators/executive… More