Shaft [Deluxe Editon]

Isaac Hayes

Shaft Deluxe Editon
  • CAT # STX-31751-25

    1. Theme From Shaft 4:40
    2. Bumpy's Lament 1:52
    3. Walk From Regio's 2:24
    4. Ellie's Love Theme 3:18
    5. Shaft's Cab Ride 1:11
    6. Café Regio's 6:10
    7. Early Sunday Morning 3:50
    8. Be Yourself 4:31
    9. A Friend's Place 3:24
    10. Soulsville 3:49
    11. No Name Bar 6:11
    12. Bumpy's Blues 4:04
    13. Shaft Strikes Again 3:05
    14. Do Your Thing 19:28
    15. The End Theme 1:59
    16. Theme From Shaft 4:45

Stax Reissues Isaac Hayes' Shaft In Deluxe Edition. Digitally Remastered With Bonus material And Extensive Liner Notes.

In 1971, the song was everywhere. "Who is the man who would risk his neck for his brother man?" Shaft? Damn right. Isaac Hayes' Shaft soundtrack album became a #1 album on both the pop and R&B charts -- and remained on the charts for a jaw-dropping 60 weeks. The first soul soundtrack to a major motion picture would earn Hayes a Grammy, Oscar and Golden Globe and set him on his way to stardom. The soundtrack continues to influence popular music -- hip-hop in particular.

On November 3, 2009, Stax Records, a unit of Concord Music Group, will release Shaft (Deluxe Edition), a digitally remastered reissue of the soundtrack including a bonus track: "Theme From Shaft [2009 Mix]." Ashley Kahn, author of several music books, contributor to NPR's "Morning Edition" and adjunct professor at New York University, wrote the liner notes for the deluxe edition.

A primary reason for the enduring significance of the ultimate Blaxploitation film Shaft is Hayes' score. He created music that sounded like nothing else of its day. "The one thing I've learned from Shaft," Hayes told The New York Times in 1972, "is that pop music doesn't set any restrictions anymore. You don't just have to go up there and sing a song because that's the way it was always done before. Use whatever means necessary, be it rap, song or arrangement, to get to the people."

As Kahn notes, "Ironically, the world's first major motion film score created by a soul music producer boasts few tracks that fit neatly into the category of soul. Hayes created a wide variety of styles -- some vocal, most instrumental -- to serve the film's many locations." Examples: the organ-trio groove of "No Name Bar," the popping, jazzy pulse of "Be Yourself," and the gentle 3/4 feel of "A Friend's Place," which channels the bittersweet sway of a Bacharach-David melody.

"Soulsville," a slow-moving vocal heard behind a lengthy ghetto scene, features mournful saxophone and Hayes' somber voice delivering a sermon on inner city reality. And filling an entire album side was the 19-minute jam "Do Your Thing," featuring distorted guitar pushed along by intermittent horn lines and chanting of the song title.

But the best known song remains the four-minute, 40-second "Theme From Shaft." According to Stax historian Rob Bowman, both musical ideas came from Stax sessions in the ' '60s -- the high-hat lick from the break of Otis Redding's 1966 recording of "Try a Little Tenderness" and the guitar part from "a long forgotten track that for one reason or another was never released. The song went two and a half minutes before the vocal part began. And then, as Kahn describes, "that call-and-response, or rather question-and-answer lyric that elevated its subject to a mythic level of machismo: who was the black private dick that was a sex machine to all the chicks . . . who would risk his neck for brother man . . . who would not cop out." Shaft. Right on.

Released in September, 1971, "Theme From Shaft" was an immediate crossover hit: #1 on the pop chart, #2 R&B. It became the precursor not only to disco but hip-hop. Kahn notes that at the premiere of the remake of Shaft with Samuel L. Jackson as its lead -- 28 years and 18 albums after creating the original soundtrack -- Hayes told it like it was. "I've talked to some younger A&R people who'd say, 'Well, what have you done lately?' And I thought to myself, just turn on the radio and listen to some of your hip-hop stuff. That's what I've done lately."

A primary reason for the enduring significance of the ultimate Blaxploitation film Shaft is the film's score, composed by the legendary Isaac Hayes. He created music that sounded like nothing else of its day - making this album truly one of the most pivotal and influential soundtracks of all-time. And now Stax Records proudly presents this phenomenal piece of music in an all-new digitally remastered deluxe edition featuring a special bonus track!

Released in 1971, the Shaft soundtrack became a #1 selling album both in Pop and R&B categories, remaining on the charts for a jaw-dropping 60 weeks.Track such as "Theme from Shaft" was an immediate crossover phenomenon; #1 Pop Single and #2 R&B Single. Isaac Hayes received a Golden Globe for Best Original Score, Grammy's for Best Original Score and Instrumental Arrangement, and an Academy Award for Best Original Song (the first Academy Award won by an African-American in a non-acting category)

Find out more about Isaac Hayes


This double LP, released on Stax Records' Enterprise label in 1971, was the follow-up to Hayes' successful soundtrack for Shaft. Black Moses… More
Of the many wonderful blaxpoitation soundtracks to emerge during the early '70s, Shaft certainly deserves mention as not only one of the most… More
ne of the best-available Isaac Hayes compilations, Greatest Hit Singles bypasses a couple of his later disco hits, but the result is a more… More
Hot Buttered SoulFour-song long-player ushered in the era of album-oriented soul with hits "By the Time I Get to… More
2009 installment in the popular For Lovers series featuring romantic performances from one of the music world's most iconic performers.. More
Isaac Hayes' legendary Hot Buttered Soul album reissued on Stax with two bonus tracks and digital remastering. More
Stax reissues Hayes' 1976 album, "Juicy Fruit (Disco Freak" on CD for the first time. More
Stax Records Reissues Isaac Hayes' "Black Moses" album on CD in Deluxe Edition with extensive liner notes. More
Isaac Hayes's first album, Presenting Isaac Hayes, was a low-budget, jazz-imbued affair recorded on the spur of the moment with only bass and… More
This 24-bit remastered disc is a career-spanning collection of 18 greatest hits including “Theme from Shaft,” “Walk On… More
Isaac Hayes' 1969 solo debut Hot Buttered Soul set a soulful tone for the decade that followed, influencing innumerable artists and… More
If some cynics chimed that Hot Buttered Soul had been a fluke, Isaac Hayes easily repeated the success of that 1969 breakthrough for symphonic… More