Isaac Hayes

  • CAT # SCD-88002-25

    1. Theme From Shaft 4:40
    2. Bumpy's Lament 1:49
    3. Walk From Regio's 2:22
    4. Ellie's Love Theme 3:15
    5. Shaft's Cab Ride 1:07
    6. Cafe Regio's 6:09
    7. Early Sunday Morning 3:47
    8. Be Yourself 4:27
    9. A Friend's Place 3:21
    10. Soulsville 3:47
    11. No Name Bar 6:09
    12. Bumpy's Blues 4:01
    13. Shaft Strikes Again 3:04
    14. Do Your Thing 19:31
    15. The End Theme 1:56

Shaft is Isaac Hayes's crowning achievement. Besides being one of the most successful soundtrack albums of all time--spending over a year on Billboard's pop album chart, which it also topped--it opened the door for a number of other r&b artists, including Curtis Mayfield, Marvin Gaye, and Norman Whitfield, to write for motion pictures. Besides such memorable tunes as "Ellie's Love Theme," "Soulville," the Wes Montgomery inspired "Cafe Regio's," and the nearly 20-minute funk opus "Do Your Thing," the double-disc album includes the classic "Theme from Shaft," itself a No. 1 pop hit. The song earned Hayes an Oscar for "Best Song," while the album won him a Grammy for "Best Original Score Written for a Motion Picture."

Find out more about Isaac Hayes


This double LP, released on Stax Records' Enterprise label in 1971, was the follow-up to Hayes' successful soundtrack for Shaft. Black Moses… More
Of the many wonderful blaxpoitation soundtracks to emerge during the early '70s, Shaft certainly deserves mention as not only one of the most… More
ne of the best-available Isaac Hayes compilations, Greatest Hit Singles bypasses a couple of his later disco hits, but the result is a more… More
Hot Buttered SoulFour-song long-player ushered in the era of album-oriented soul with hits "By the Time I Get to… More
2009 installment in the popular For Lovers series featuring romantic performances from one of the music world's most iconic performers.. More
Stax Reissues Isaac Hayes' Shaft In Deluxe Edition. Digitally Remastered With Bonus material And Extensive Liner Notes. More
Isaac Hayes' legendary Hot Buttered Soul album reissued on Stax with two bonus tracks and digital remastering. More
Stax reissues Hayes' 1976 album, "Juicy Fruit (Disco Freak" on CD for the first time. More
Stax Records Reissues Isaac Hayes' "Black Moses" album on CD in Deluxe Edition with extensive liner notes. More
Isaac Hayes's first album, Presenting Isaac Hayes, was a low-budget, jazz-imbued affair recorded on the spur of the moment with only bass and… More
This 24-bit remastered disc is a career-spanning collection of 18 greatest hits including “Theme from Shaft,” “Walk On… More
Isaac Hayes' 1969 solo debut Hot Buttered Soul set a soulful tone for the decade that followed, influencing innumerable artists and… More