Philly Joe Jones

  • CAT # OJCCD-484-25

    1. Battery Blues 4:06
    2. Minor Mode 4:26
    3. Gwen 3:57
    4. Joe's Debut 5:35
    5. Gone 4:42
    6. Joe's Delight 3:50
    7. Julia 3:26
    8. I'll Never Be The Same 5:06
    9. Interpretation 4:02

Any of the three albums recorded for Riverside under his leadership could easily have been titled "Philly Joe Jones and Friends." During the hectic post-bop era of the late Fifties and early Sixties, no drummer was more active or as much in demand for record dates on New York-based labels like Riverside and Blue Note. Philly Joe (who was nicknamed in honor of his hometown to avoid confusion with Count Basie's longtime rhythm section mainstay, Jo Jones) first gained attention with the Miles Davis Quintet, then led groups of his own, so that every player in the shifting lineups here (including Blue Mitchell, Pepper Adams, Sonny Clark, Jimmy Garrison) had either worked for him or been superbly supported by him on many a session.

with Blue Mitchell, Julian Priester, Bill Barron, Pepper Adams, Charles Coker, Sonny Clark, Jimmy Garrison

Find out more about Philly Joe Jones


One of the all-around outstanding and most innovative drummers of all time, his work by turns peerlessly propulsive and consummately deft, Joseph… More
After more than a decade away from the jazz limelight, drummer extraordinaire Philly Joe Jones resurfaced in 1977. After touring and recording… More
Philly Joe Jones, the irrepressible drummer who came to fame with Miles Davis in the mid-1950s, recorded frequently as a leader in his days with… More