Solo Recital: Montreux Jazz Festival 1978

Mary Lou Williams

Solo Recital Montreux Jazz Festival 1978
  • CAT # OJCCD-962-25

    1. Medley: The Lord Is Heavy (Spiritual II And III) / Old Fashioned Slow Blues / For The Figs (K.C. Swi 11:26
    2. Over The Rainbow 2:47
    3. Offertory Meditation 5:46
    4. Tea For Two 5:00
    5. Concerto Alone At Montreux 6:28
    6. Little Joe From Chicago 5:43
    7. The Man I Love 7:21
    8. What's Your Story Morning Glory 3:39
    9. Honeysuckle Rose 5:32

Formidable from the first moment of her professional career, Mary Lou Williams’s position in the Andy Kirk Orchestra of the mid-Thirties was made clear in the title of one of its records: The Lady Who Swings the Band. She swung the band, all right, in that piece and “Mary’s Idea,” “Walkin’ and Swinging’,” “Twelfth Street Rag,” and many others. She was not just the heart of the band but its arranging brain. She went on to write superb arrangements for Earl Hines, Benny Goodman, Tommy Dorsey, and Duke Ellington. In the 1960s and ’70s she composed full-scale religious works. Throughout her life, she was a masterful solo pianist. This 1978 concert three years before her death displays her range from slow blues, ragtime, and swing through impressionistic modernism. It includes two of her most famous compositions, “What’s Your Story Morning Glory” and “Little Joe from Chicago.”

Find out more about Mary Lou Williams


Embraced is a momentous meeting of keyboard giants. Mary Lou Williams (1910-81) was, in fact, a one-woman history of improvised piano styles who… More


At the age of 16, in 1926, Mary Lou Williams was an accomplished jazz pianist. The evidence is on recordings she made that year. By 1930, when she… More
Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.