Sonny Is King

Sonny Terry

Sonny Is King
  • CAT # OBCCD-521-25

    1. One Monkey Don't Stop The Show 3:12
    2. Changed The Lock On My Door 3:30
    3. Tater Pie 2:32
    4. She's So Sweet 2:39
    5. Diggin' My Potatoes 3:32
    6. Sonny's Coming 2:50
    7. Ida Mae 3:10
    8. Callin' My Mama 2:33
    9. Bad Luck 4:10
    10. Blues From The Bottom 4:17

Although their styles were regions apart and they’d never performed together previously, Georgia harmonica ace Sonny Terry and Texas guitar titan Lightnin’ Hopkins fit like foot in sock when producer Kenneth S. Goldstein paired them at Rudy Van Gelder’s studio on October 26, 1960. As LeRoi Jones observed in the original album notes, “There is a meeting of ways, where the light and the sad seem to come together simply as blues.” For the selections #6-10 recorded the following year, Terry was back in the more familiar company of another great guitarist, his longtime partner Brownie McGhee.

with Lightnin' Hopkins, Brownie McGhee, Leonard Gaskin, Belton Evans

Find out more about Sonny Terry


Concord Music Group digital-only Six Pack Series samples the best in Jazz, Blues and Soul. More


Out of print for nearly four decades, this 1953 recording is one of the rarest of all Sonny Terry albums. It's also one of those rare Terry… More
Throughout the prolific career of Sonny Terry and Brownie McGhee, the most beloved performing association in blues history, many fans felt that… More