Sonny's Dream (Birth Of The New Cool)

Sonny Criss Orchestra

Sonnys Dream Birth Of The New Cool
  • CAT # OJCCD-707-25

    1. Sonny's Dream 7:30
    2. Ballad For Samuel 4:18
    3. The Black Apostles 5:48
    4. The Golden Pearl 5:06
    5. Daughter Of Cochise 7:31
    6. Sandy And Niles 5:24
    7. The Golden Pearl (Alternate) 5:01
    8. Sonny's Dream (Alternate) 7:30

The subtitle of this album, "Birth of the New Cool," was meant to call attention to the similarity in instrumentation between this band and the legendary Miles Davis Nonet; but the Sonny Criss Orchestra has a style all its own. The compositions and arrangements of Horace Tapscott are bold, highly rhythmic, and a passionate match for the intense leader, who played soprano on record for the first time as well as his customary alto. The music reveals Tapscott as a first-rank musician in far more than the avant-garde style with which he is usually identified; and the impressive band (including Conte Candoli, Teddy Edwards, and Tommy Flanagan) contributes on the same inspired level as the writer and the leader. Not just one of Sonny Criss's greatest achievements, Sonny's Dream is one of the greatest albums of the Sixties, made even more precious with the inclusion of two alternate takes.

with David Sherr, Teddy Edwards, Pete Christlieb, Conte Candoli, Dick Nash, Ray Draper, Tommy Flanagan, Al McKibbon, Everett Brown, Jr.

Find out more about Sonny Criss Orchestra


In 1966 producer Don Schlitten imported Sonny Criss to New York for a recording session with a rhythm section handpicked for their ability to… More