Soul People
  • CAT # PRCD-24127-2

    1. Soul People 10:00
    2. Sonny's Book 9:50
    3. C-Jam Blues 4:12
    4. Medley: I Can't Get Started / I'm Afraid The Masquerade Is Over
    5. Flyin' Home 5:12
    6. Tune-Up 3:12
    7. There Will Never Be Another You 5:00

According to prevailing modern jazz wisdom, when one locked horns with altoist-tenor player Sonny Stitt (1924-1982), one had to be armed to the teeth with licks. Booker Ervin (1930-1970), whose tenor saxophone cry was among the most urgent sounds of the post-to-free-bop era, was solely on the basis of that sound, more than equal to the task of jamming with Stitt. Backed expertly by organist Don Patterson (1936-1988), who had worked extensively with Stitt, Soul People (which also includes a previously unreleased Patterson feature, the mellow bossa reading of “There Will Never Be Another You”) is a consistently rewarding set.

with Vinnie Corrao, Grant Green, Billy James

Find out more about Sonny Stitt, Booker Ervin & Don Patterson