• CAT # PRCD-24222-25

    1. Living Soul 8:30
    2. Blues For Yna Yna 5:12
    3. The Girl From Ipanema(instrumental) 4:04
    4. Gemini 9:33
    5. Over The Rainbow 2:47
    6. If I Had A Hammer (the Hammer Song) 9:25
    7. Never On Sunday 2:43
    8. Manha De Carnaval 2:16
    9. 1/2/2003 4:00
    10. Boo-d-doo 3:30
    11. Work Song (instrumental) 4:12
    12. When Lights Are Low 11:59
    13. Old Folks 6:52

Celebrated for his massive sound and driving bass lines, Hammond B-3 organ master Richard "Groove" Holmes was on the verge of a major commercial breakthrough when he recorded the first of the two LPs reissued herein at Count Basie's celebrated nightclub in Harlem. With an effusive crowd of fans providing encouragement, Holmes generates the same sort of intensity that made his swinging treatment of Erroll Garner's "Misty" such a smash. For the second album, cut later in 1966 at Rudy Van Gelder's New Jersey studio, Holmes and his working band (guitarist Gene Edwards and drummer George Randall) are augmented by conga drummer Richard Landrum and, on his very first appearance on Prestige, acid-jazz guitar great Boogaloo Joe Jones.

with Gene Edwards, George Randall, Boogaloo Joe Jones, Richard Landrum

Find out more about Richard "Groove" Holmes


Many Eastern and Midwestern musicians helped sustain the West Coast jazz scene in the ’50s and ’60s, but the only one among them who… More
with Gene Edwards, George Randall Recorded in performance at Count Basie's Club, New York City; April 22, 1966. More
In 1967, when the two LPs that comprise this CD were recorded, organist extraordinaire Richard "Groove" Holmes was still riding high from… More
Richard "Groove" Holmes cooks like crazy on the 1968 dates collected here. The Groover! is a trio session distinguished by a… More
Erroll Garner’s “Misty,” one of the most beautiful ballads of the past 40 years, has also enjoyed a second life as hard-driving… More
Best known for his 1966 hit single of "Misty," which brought soul-jazz to the pop charts, the aptly-nicknamed organist Richard… More
Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.