Stormy / Feel The Warm

Billy Eckstine

Stormy Feel The Warm
  • Release Date: 20 Jun 1994
  • Label: STAX
  • Genre: JAZZ
  • CAT # SCD-88020-25

    1. Medley: Just A Little Loving (Early In The Morning) / What The World Needs Now Is Love
    2. Name Of My Sorrow 5:33
    3. Stormy 3:31
    4. My Cherie Amour 3:23
    5. When You Look In The Mirror (You're Looking At The One I Love) 4:26
    6. The Luckiest Man In The World 3:54
    7. I Wanna Be Your Baby 3:07
    8. Make It With You 3:32
    9. Think About Things 3:31
    10. Don't Leave Me 2:51
    11. Mixed Up Girl 5:03
    12. Third Child 2:35
    13. Feel The Warm 3:08
    14. Walk A Mile In My Shoes 4:34
    15. Something More 3:54
    16. We've Only Just Begun 2:33
    17. Love The One You're With 2:55

Billy Eckstine (1914-1993) was the quintessential bass-baritone crooner, a class act throughout his distinguished career. He also strived to keep his music contemporary, which explains his three mid-Sixties albums for Motown and the two that followed (and are compiled herein) for Stax's Enterprise label. The Great Mr. B.'s velvety, vibrato-rich pipes were resplendent on these albums, the first recorded in Memphis with producer Isaac Hayes, the second in Southern California with Artie Butler. Among the highlights is Eckstine's haunting reading of the Jimmy Webb tune "Name of My Sorrow," to which Hayes applied a hot-buttered soul coat not unlike that of his own treatment of Webb's "By the Time I Get to Phoenix."

with Isaac Hayes, Marvell Thomas, Michael Toles, Sandra Rhodes, James Alexander, Willie Hall

Find out more about Billy Eckstine


Billy Eckstine's name may have faded from the charts by the time he cut this material for the Enterprise label, a division of Stax Records… More