Straight Ahead CCD2 2167 2
  • CAT # CCD2-2167-25

    DISC ONE  
    1. I'm Afraid The Masquerade Is Over 4:11
    2. You Call It Madness, But I Call It Love 3:57
    3. Blues For Junior 5:18
    4. Sweet Georgia Brown 5:22
    5. I Want To Be Happy 2:42
    6. Put Your Little Foot Right Out 6:02
    7. Captain Bill 3:13
    8. To Each His Own 5:20
    9. Sister Sadie 4:05
    DISC TWO  
    1. But Not For Me 9:38
    2. A Time For Love 6:00
    3. Orange In Pain 6:17
    4. F.S.R. 6:15
    5. For All We Know 7:43
    6. C.C. Rider 8:35

The trio swings so mightily you'd swear there's a drummer in there somewhere. But, no, there isn't. It's just the relentless rhythmic drive and incessant swing of one of jazz's most exciting (and indeed drum-less) trios. Disc One, simply titled Trio, captures the distinctive interplay of the remarkable threesome in the recording studio. Disc Two, Overseas Special, features the dynamic trio live in Japan. In these two classic outings that preceded their incarnation as "Tripile Treat," fiery, Jamaican-born pianist Monty Alexander, bass legend Ray Brown, and jazz guitar icon Herb Ellis, deliver inspired, straight-ahead jazz at its swinging finest.

Find out more about Monty Alexander, Ray Brown & Herb Ellis