Sweet And Slow

Carol Sloane

Sweet And Slow
  • CAT # CCD-4564-25

    1. Sometime Ago 3:37
    2. One Morning In May 3:51
    3. I'm Way Ahead Of The Game 4:32
    4. I'm Getting Sentimental Over You 5:27
    5. Until I Met You 4:19
    6. Sweet And Slow 5:56
    7. You're Getting To Be A Habit With Me 3:52
    8. A Woman's Intuition 3:41
    9. Baubles, Bangles And Beads 4:57
    10. An Older Man Is Like An Elegant Wine 5:10
    11. If I Could Be With You One Hour Tonight 3:16
    12. I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good) 6:53

Like most of her albums, Sweet and Slow owes a debt to Carmen McRae, Carol’s greatest inspiration. “As much as I adored Ella and Sarah, Carmen had a voice I could really understand,” she says. “The way she read a lyric made much more sense to me, because she sounded more human. I thought that’s what I have to aim for when I sing – to make someone share a moment with me.”

Without a doubt, this “gray-haired lady from Stoneham who likes to sing,” as she calls herself, is doing her best work. Says Carol: “This may be the first album I’ve made that I’ve been able to listen to and think, ‘That’s Ok.’”

This album was recorded in New York City, NY, on April 19-21, 1993.

The album also features Stefan Scaggiari on piano, John Lockwood on bass, Colin Bailey on drums, and Frank Wess on tenor saxophone / flute.

Find out more about Carol Sloane


“Carol Sloane has been part of the jazz scene since the late 1950s and she continues to grow in depth, passion and musicality as the years… More
Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.
with Phil Woods, Mike Renzi, Rufus Reid, Grady Tate Recorded May 24-25, 1990. More
with Art Farmer, Clifford Jordan, Kenny Barron, Richard Rodney Bennett, Kenny Burrell, Rufus Reid, Akira Tana Recorded October… More