The Blues Balladeer

Jesse Belvin

The Blues Balladeer
  • CAT # SPCD-7003-2

    1. Daddy Loves Baby 2:25
    2. My Love Comes Tumbling Down 2:34
    3. Dream Girl 3:11
    4. Daddy Loves Baby 2:25
    5. Dream Girl 3:11
    6. Confusin' Blues 3:07
    7. Baby Don't Go 2:19
    8. Confusin' Blues 3:07
    9. Blues Has Got Me 2:41
    10. Hang Your Tears Out To Dry 2:27
    11. Dream Girl 3:11
    12. Don't Stop (Pretty Baby) 2:29
    13. Love Me 1:58
    14. Puddin' 'n' Tane 3:20
    15. Open Up Your Heart 2:35
    16. What's The Matter (aka Hey Baby) 2:38
    17. Ding Dong Baby 2:01
    18. One Little Blessing 2:42
    19. Gone 2:31
    20. Love, Love Of My Life 2:10
    21. Where's My Girl 2:18
    22. Let's Try Romance 2:12
    23. Come Back 2:46
    24. Love Of My Life 2:36

San Antonio born singer-songwriter Jesse Belvin (1932-60) was a pivotal figure of the Los Angeles rhythm and blues scene in the Fifties, a principal architect of the Southern California doo-wop sound that swept the nation during that decade and can be felt in low-rider culture to this day. Belvin's style, in the words of Jim Dawson, "was a bridge between the cool urban blues of Nat Cole and Charles Brown with their impeccable lyrical phrasing and tones and the rough-edged rock of Richard Berry, the Penguins, and the early Platters." These two dozen sides, cut between 1952 and '58, include three very different versions of "Dream Girl," Belvin's 1953 hit duet with Marvin Phillips.

Gone, Dream Girl [alternate], Don't Stop (Pretty Baby) [demo], Confusin' Blues; Love, Love of My Life; Daddy Loves Baby, Puddin' 'n' Tane, Open Up Your Heart [demo], One Little Blessing, Baby Don't Go, Ding Dong Baby [demo], Where's My Girl?, Love Me [demo], Love of My Life [demo],plus CD bonus tracks Daddy Loves Baby, Love Comes Tumbling Down, Dream Girl, Confusin' Blues aka Jesse's Blues [demo], Blues Has Got Me, Hang Your Tears Out to Dry aka Dry Your Tears, What's the Matter [demo], Let's Try Romance, Come Back

Find out more about Jesse Belvin