The Bluesville Years, Vol. 5: Mr. Brownie And Mr. Sonny

Brownie McGhee & Sonny Terry

The Bluesville Years Vol 5 Mr Brownie And Mr Sonny
  • CAT # PRCD-9913-25

    1. Jump, Little Children 4:35
    2. Lonesome Day 5:23
    3. The Killin' Floor 3:38
    4. I Don't Know The Reason 4:01
    5. Every Day I Have The Blues 5:32
    6. I Ain't Gonna Be Your Dog No More 3:41
    7. Four O'Clock Blues 3:32
    8. I'm Gonna Get On My Feets Afterwhile 4:02
    9. Diggin' My Potatoes 3:32
    10. One Monkey Don't Stop The Show 3:12
    11. Evil Hearted Me 4:36
    12. Spread The News Around 4:04
    13. Custard Pie 3:49
    14. Wholesale Dealin' Papa 3:35
    15. Motorcycle Blues 3:43
    16. Hand In Hand 4:50
    17. I Woke Up One Morning And I Could Hardly See 5:44

Recorded October 1960 and April 1962.

Find out more about Brownie McGhee & Sonny Terry


Sonny Terry (1911-1986) and Brownie McGhee (1915-1996) were the longest lasting and most beloved team in the history of the blues. This… More
with Roy Haynes Recorded December 1959 & September 1960. More
Opposites seldom attract as successfully as did Brownie McGhee and Sonny Terry. Throughout their long musical partnership, Terry’s raw… More
Although Sonny Terry and Brownie McGhee had known each other since 1939, they didn’t begin performing together regularly until nearly 20… More
Sonny Terry and Brownie McGhee, on-and-off partners since 1942, were in the cast of Tennessee Williams’s Cat on a Hot Tin Roof when… More