The Calling

Mary Chapin Carpenter

The Calling
  • CAT # 01143-1111-2

    1. The Calling 4:17
    2. We're All Right 3:48
    3. Twilight 4:31
    4. It Must Have Happened 4:01
    5. On and On It Goes 4:21
    6. Your Life Story 4:21
    7. Houston 5:46
    8. Leaving Song 4:01
    9. On with the Song 3:55
    10. Closer and Closer Apart 4:32
    11. Here I Am 4:18
    12. Why Shouldn't We 5:05
    13. Bright Morning Star 4:53

Click here to purchase this album on

As a songwriter and performer, Mary Chapin Carpenter has long since transcended the traditional notions of genre and style, finding widespread acclaim for her poetic, elegantly-observed compositions. The Calling, her first release for Zoƫ/Rounder, is the most topical album she's made in her twenty-year career. While it unequivocally addresses issues both public and political - from the after-effects of Hurricane Katrina to religious zealotry to the trial-by-radio of the Dixie Chicks - there is also something deeply personal about this extraordinary collection of songs. The album is a powerful, provocative meditation on the mysteries of fate and circumstance, which mingles timeless questions with contemporary issues. Introspective, defiant and deeply resonant, The Calling is a profound set from one of modern songwriting's most distinctive voices.

Featuring 'It Must Have Happened,' 'We're All Right,' and 'On with the Song.'

Find out more about Mary Chapin Carpenter


Mary Chapin Carpenter’s debut orchestral record, Songs From The Movie, will be released January 14 on Zoë/Rounder Records… More
Ashes and Roses is the new album from acclaimed singer-songwriter Mary Chapin Carpenter on Zoe/Rounder Records. On this, her twelfth studio… More
Click here to purchase this album on Amazon.comFinally, a Christmas album worth listening to all year long. When Mary Chapin Carpenter… More