The Ellington Suites

Duke Ellington And His Orchestra

The Ellington Suites OJCCD 446 2
  • CAT # OJCCD-446-25

    1. The Queen's Suite: Sunset And The Mocking Bird 3:44
    2. The Queen's Suite: Lightning Bugs And Frogs 2:47
    3. The Queen's Suite: Le Sucrier Velours 2:40
    4. The Queen's Suite: Northern Lights 3:30
    5. The Queen's Suite: The Single Petal Of A Rose 4:03
    6. The Queen's Suite: Apes And Peacocks 3:00
    7. The Goutelas Suite: Fanfare
    8. The Goutelas Suite: Goutelas 1:09
    9. The Goutelas Suite: Get-With-Itness 1:52
    10. The Goutelas Suite: Something 5:18
    11. The Goutelas Suite: Having At It 3:30
    12. The Goutelas Suite: Fanfare
    13. The Uwis Suite: Uwis 7:45
    14. The Uwis Suite: Klop 1:56
    15. The Uwis Suite: Loco Madi 5:51

In his later years, Duke Ellington wrote and recorded a large number of suites. Many of them would not be heard until after his death, as material from what he called the "stockpile" was discovered and released. Among the most beautiful of the suites was "The Queen's Suite," written in honor of Queen Elizabeth in the late 1950s but not issued until 1976. It includes Ellington's lovely piano solo, "The Single Petal of a Rose." With "The Queen's Suite" in this collection are the majestic "Goutelas Suite" and "The UWIS Suite," which contains Ellington's only known recording of a polka. Major Ellington soloists like Johnny Hodges and Paul Gonsalves are on hand, but the center of attraction is the composition and orchestration by the maestro and Billy Strayhorn.

with Cat Anderson, Harry Carney, Johnny Coles, Mercer Ellington, Paul Gonsalves, Johnny Hodges, Quentin Jackson, Ray Nance, Russell Procope, Clark Terry, Cootie Williams, and others

Find out more about Duke Ellington And His Orchestra


with Johnny Hodges, Harry Carney, Paul Gonsalves, Jimmy Hamilton, Russell Procope, Clark Terry, Ray Nance, Cat Anderson, Shorty Baker, Quentin… More


Concord Music Group will release five new titles in its Original Jazz Classics Remasters series on September 17, 2013. Enhanced by 24-bit… More
During the Duke Ellington orchestra's heyday, musicians would sometimes speak almost with pleasure of having caught it on an off night. Their… More
with Lawrence Brown, Chuck Connors, Cootie Williams, Cat Anderson, Johnny Hodges, Russell Procope, Jimmy Hamilton, Paul Gonsalves, Harry Carney… More
Fortunately for posterity, Duke Ellington not only liked to hear what he had written the night before, but was in the habit of recording… More
Originally to have been called Mexicanticipación, the name of this brilliant suite by Duke Ellington was broadened, following the band's… More
With the exception of “Warm Valley” and “Take the ‘A’ Train,” Duke Ellington’s Yale Concert… More
Duke Ellington's admiration for Paul Gonsalves was given particularly generous expression in this album. The maestro designated his great tenor… More