The Memphis Horns

The Memphis Horns

The Memphis Horns
  • CAT # 83344-25

    1. Take Me To The River 5:01
    2. Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa (Sad Song) 3:22
    3. I've Been Loving You Too Long 5:26
    4. Somebody Have Mercy 4:31
    5. Break The Chain 6:45
    6. Holding On To Love 3:50
    7. I'm Just Another Soldier 3:50
    8. Rumors 3:59
    9. Roller Coaster 4:58
    10. You Don't Miss Your Water 5:23
    11. Desire In Your Eyes 4:08

With Have Mercy, the exceptional Memphis Horns -- Wayne Jackson (trumpet, trombone) and Andrew Love (tenor saxophone) -- make their Telarc International debut with old and new rhythm-and-blues friends to yield a rousing soul music revival reminiscent of the Fifties and Sixties.

Performing together for over thirty years, Jackson and Love garnered worldwide popularity and helped to shape a music era from the time they incorporated as Memphis Horns in 1964. Their spontaneous, slow-grinding, gospel-based, blues-grooved sound has punctuated over 300 gold albums from popular artists. The Memphis Horns displayed their seamless power for everyone from Otis Redding, Aretha Franklin, Sam & Dave in their early days, to U2, Steve Winwood and Robert Cray (and other musicians who appear on this album) in more recent years.

Among twelve R&B guest stars on Have Mercy, Etta James, Robert Cray, Isaac Hayes, Leon Russell, Mavis Staple, and Bobby Womack perform original songs treated to liberal doses of Memphis Horns.

Have Mercy, a balmy R&B session, will have fans dreamily reminiscing, singing along, or slow dancing. It's definite soul party.

Find out more about The Memphis Horns