The Mundell Lowe Quartet

Mundell Lowe Quartet

The Mundell Lowe Quartet
  • CAT # OJCCD-1773-25

    1. Will You Still Be Mine? 7:07
    2. I Guess I'll Have To Change My Plans 4:31
    3. I'll Never Be The Same 5:06
    4. All Of You 4:26
    5. Yes Sir, That's My Baby 2:36
    6. The Night We Called It A Day 3:45
    7. Bach Revisited 2:57
    8. Cheek To Cheek 4:49
    9. Far From Vanilla 3:29

This quartet of active studio players achieves a distinctive small-group personality. The key is Dick Hyman, who plays organ, celeste, and the inside of the piano as well as the usual ivories; and his obvious empathy with guitarist Mundell Lowe. While organ and guitar mesh in such a way as to suggest phantom vibes or accordions at times, the band can also travel to the borders of the avant-garde, as on Lowe’s “Far from Vanilla.”

with Dick Hyman, Trigger Alpert, Ed Shaughnessy

Find out more about Mundell Lowe Quartet


Conventional wisdom among jazz musicians is that the real test of artistry lies not in the ability to negotiate complex chord structures at the… More